Ghirardelli® Individual Chocolate Lava Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I love this recipe. You aren't eating raw cake batter, which a lot of other recipes require in order to have the liquid center. However, after making the chocolate balls, I like to FREEZE them. Then, after pouring the cake batter into the ramekins or muffin tins, I drop one of the frozen balls of chocolate into the center of each. The cake bakes beautifully around the ball of chocolate ganache, which melts in the time it takes the cake to bake. Simplicity, perfection. Delicious and impressive. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Didn't taste as good as the picture looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Out of this world
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
this is the best recipe ever love it :)mmm so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is very good. Definitely need ice cream with it and a glass of milk. It is bitter chocolate so be prepared for extra dense flavor. I did find that the chocolate in the middle did not firm as others stated. A visit to the freezer helped that. Best part of this cake was I made the batter, put it in my ramekins, placed them on a jelly roll pan, covered them, and put them in my refrigerator before dinner. Well, we were so full from dinner, I ended up not cooking them...for two days! I pulled out the pan and put it on the counter to warm it up, I put my frozen chocolate balls in the middle and cooked it for the fifteen minutes as stated. They came out perfectly. This is a great recipe for a dinner party since I can make the majority of it an advance! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made my hubby these lava cakes for Valentine's Day. He's a chocolate lover, and these cakes definitely satisfied that sweet tooth. They are vey rich, so I found it necessary to cut the decadence with a barely sweetened homemade whip cream. I also made only 4 cakes in 8oz ramekins, but still followed the baking time and temperature in the recipe, and it worked out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweetchef
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This recipe was great but I believe that 60% bittersweet chocolate is a bit too rich for my liking. Although, I used a ganache I had made the day before to fill chocolates which was made with semisweet chocolate. Other than that I was extremely satisfied with the results. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Great. Just great. It was all okay but the plates were terrible. But the food was good so 5 stars. Something I changed, instead of double boiler I use a microwave and it melted just fine if you use it for 15 seconds on half power
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I've made better lava cakes with other recipes. I found this to be tedious, requiring a separate step to make the "lava" balls, and I found the cake somewhat on the dry side. I prefer lava cakes to be gushy. The flavor was good. Perhaps baking it for a minute or two less might help but since I've my own preferred recipes I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I Just Love this Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisafromTexas

Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States