Ghirardelli® Individual Chocolate Lava Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
I think I might have over cooked it. The center was not liquid chocolate but kind of hard. Flavor was good so I will try again another time. Reheats well in the microwave and stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
These were pretty good. Not the best I've had tho. The only thing I changed was I used Ghirardelli semi-sweet choc. for the filling, only because I have a lil sweet tooth. I put the filling in mini cupcake liners and threw them in the refrigerator, then popped them out into the batter instead of rolling into balls, Less mess. Served with whip cream and I made a raspberry sauce, but served it on the side, as not everyone likes raspberries in my house. Would make a beautiful presentation tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This recipe is so good, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Carolino

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Second time preparing this recipe. Never fails to impress!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Good taste but way too much butter. They were greasy and crumbly. I cooked for the exact amount of time and the center was almost dry. They did easily slip out of the ramekin though. I will try another recipe with less butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I didn't have ramekins so I used muffin tins. I baked at 400 for 12 minutes and I used a semi sweet center because I love sweets. I noticed it's best to let the balls freeze and use small sized ones. Do not pour all batter, make sure you save some for after adding the ball to cover it. If not they tend to cave in at the canter and the bottom won't hold. Delicious though:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
First time and they came out PERFECT. SUPERB. I was afraid of using too much dark choco considering i prefer sweet so i just replaced 1 oz of bittersweet for semi-sweet, next time i'll try 50/50. I added a small scoop of TALENTI vanilla ice cream to soften. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inah_borra
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I have made lots of chocolate lava cakes using different recipes but i could never perfect it because it needed right timing. Most of the recipes require you to undercook the cake so there would be chocolate lava inside. This is the first time i finally got it right. It is not undercooked cake. This recipe provides for a perfectly cooked cake with lava inside. Lots of thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This recipe was super easy! I just used 60% caco chips and only needed one bag. First off if I make it again, I would use about 50% more of the filling recipe. I used a cookie scoop (2 tsp size) to make the balls. With the original recipe, I had enough to make 5 easy scoops and for the sixth one I just used what was left and took a little from each ball. Also if I make it again, I would squish the balls to make them flatter. As balls, they poked out of the batter a bit and I just covered them up before baking. Turned out okay, but I think they would have been better if a little flatter instead of balls. After I made the balls, I put them in the freezer. The batter was very easy to make and I just used a large muffin tin. Filed it about 1/2 full and it went up to 3/4 full with the filling. I coated the tin in shortening and coca powder, and the cakes came out easily after going around the edges with a knife. Also too, I didn't have cake flour so I used all purpose, took out 1/2 T and put in 1/2 T cornstarch. Shifted it twice to incorporate the cornstarch. I also just microwaved everything. Overall, just a easy recipe and very pleasing for a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Pretty major disaster. I did freeze the centers before baking but they all disappeared anyway. The temperature is too high. They were burned in 12 minutes. I personally do not like dark chocolate. I made these for my wife's birthday. She said what she could eat did taste good. I wi;ll try again at a lower temperature and perhaps a slightly smaller serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph Richardson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States