Ghirardelli® Individual Chocolate Lava Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
First time and they came out PERFECT. SUPERB. I was afraid of using too much dark choco considering i prefer sweet so i just replaced 1 oz of bittersweet for semi-sweet, next time i'll try 50/50. I added a small scoop of TALENTI vanilla ice cream to soften. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inah_borra
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I have made lots of chocolate lava cakes using different recipes but i could never perfect it because it needed right timing. Most of the recipes require you to undercook the cake so there would be chocolate lava inside. This is the first time i finally got it right. It is not undercooked cake. This recipe provides for a perfectly cooked cake with lava inside. Lots of thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This recipe was super easy! I just used 60% caco chips and only needed one bag. First off if I make it again, I would use about 50% more of the filling recipe. I used a cookie scoop (2 tsp size) to make the balls. With the original recipe, I had enough to make 5 easy scoops and for the sixth one I just used what was left and took a little from each ball. Also if I make it again, I would squish the balls to make them flatter. As balls, they poked out of the batter a bit and I just covered them up before baking. Turned out okay, but I think they would have been better if a little flatter instead of balls. After I made the balls, I put them in the freezer. The batter was very easy to make and I just used a large muffin tin. Filed it about 1/2 full and it went up to 3/4 full with the filling. I coated the tin in shortening and coca powder, and the cakes came out easily after going around the edges with a knife. Also too, I didn't have cake flour so I used all purpose, took out 1/2 T and put in 1/2 T cornstarch. Shifted it twice to incorporate the cornstarch. I also just microwaved everything. Overall, just a easy recipe and very pleasing for a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Pretty major disaster. I did freeze the centers before baking but they all disappeared anyway. The temperature is too high. They were burned in 12 minutes. I personally do not like dark chocolate. I made these for my wife's birthday. She said what she could eat did taste good. I wi;ll try again at a lower temperature and perhaps a slightly smaller serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph Richardson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
The only thing keeping me from giving this 5 stars is the fact that it didn't really have a lava filling, it was just a DELICIOUS, fudgy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
An excellent recipe - my first serious baking endeavour (other than bread and banana bread) and it was a smash hit! Good thing I made extras as guests requested seconds. I made the recipe exactly to spec and wouldn't change a thing, except possibly to double the recipe to make the cakes bigger. Served with oranges marinated in a light syrup made with julienned orange peel and topped with whipped cream and shards of candied ginger. OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Singh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I love this recipe. You aren't eating raw cake batter, which a lot of other recipes require in order to have the liquid center. However, after making the chocolate balls, I like to FREEZE them. Then, after pouring the cake batter into the ramekins or muffin tins, I drop one of the frozen balls of chocolate into the center of each. The cake bakes beautifully around the ball of chocolate ganache, which melts in the time it takes the cake to bake. Simplicity, perfection. Delicious and impressive. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Didn't taste as good as the picture looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Out of this world
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
this is the best recipe ever love it :)mmm so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States