Ghirardelli® Dark Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I really like this recipes. I made these very tiny because they are so rich. If you make them too big then they are a bit overwhelming. I also froze the truffle and then dipped them in candy mold chocolate. This made an outer shell with a creamy center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is how I make my chocolate truffles. Except when they are done I freeze them and then dip them into melted chocolate thinned with oil. They are also easier to shape into a ball when froze slightly in the bowl or after scooped onto a baking sheet. A 1 tblsp. good quality cookie scoop is the best to use. And, to flavor the chocolate add flavor liquors to taste. The sky is the limit on what to rolls them in or sprinkle or drizzle them with. Semi-sweet chocolate chips can also be subtituted, as bittersweet chocolate has a very distinct taste, that doesn't appeal to as many people. Everyone loves these that I give them to on the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is a delicious, simple, and FAST recipe. I used salted butter and 2 king size Hershey's special dark chocolate bars (about 12 ounces, or 2 cups of chips) and they were perfect! We used the small end of a melon baller and they were just the right size. We rolled some in cocoa powder (which I found too bitter) and some in milk chocolate (which is way too much work! not worth it to me). Next time I might try the nuts, or roll them in a sweeter powder like powdered sugar or even a hot chocolate mix. Basically, you just need something to keep your fingers from melting the delicious and decadent truffle part while you get it into your mouth! I also think they taste better slightly chilled rather than at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I just combined all the ingredients at once in a saucepan and heated them up until it was smooth, then I put it in a bowl and into the freezer. It didn't take very long and they came out great. just like store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kclark85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made these this morning for a Valentine's treat for my boys tonight. I made no changes or substitutions Very very simple. I had one today and it's wonderful. NOTE: I've made this recipe before so whenever I make truffles, I make uniform sized balls using my small cookie scoop, roll them into a ball and if I don't roll them in coconut flakes or chopped nuts, I line them in a small foil-lined pan with sides (this is so they don't roll off). I then stick them in the freezer until they're firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Worked very well. I'd probably use a little more cream next time, to increase the softness factor, but these were pretty nicely soft on their own. I like the taste the butter adds. I used salted butter instead of unsalted--I'm pretty sure I wouldn't do that again unless I was rolling them in nuts. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very easy and quick to make. I covered mine in both milk chocolate and the other half in white chocolate. Brought them into work today and there were none left. Will make again. Very pretty and quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFritz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Tasty. I didn't have any utensils to help make these into balls and the chocolate melted as soon as it touched my hands. I ended up pouring this into a square 9X9 and cutting it into squares. Not traditional, so everyone kept telling me they had never had fudge that good before. They were delicious - creamy and delicate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adi
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I rolled these in toasted coconut, chopped hazelnuts, cocoa powder, and sprinkles, and they were gone so quickly I barely got a taste. DELICIOUS, and intensely easy. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These are very decadent truffles. My husband loved them so so much, I am making them for his co-workers. I did have a problem with the consistency though, it was more on the soft side (even after being in the freezer for a few hrs!!) and when rolling the, I had lots of mixture left on my palms..Maybe I didn't do the measurements correctly? But regardless..after a day or 2 in the fridge, these are superb. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States