Ghirardelli® Dark Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
The first time I made this, I made it to the T. For being a dark chocolate cupcake, I didn't get it. It didn't have much of a chocolate taste. My friends loved it, but for me it wasn't all that. However, the second time I made it, I did add two more tablespoons of cocoa to make it chocolaty. A tip: if you use instant coffee such as nescafe, put in 2 tbsp of instant coffee to a little more than 1/3 cup of water and let it steam, not boil. Stir and measure out 1/3 cup and let cool. The coffee really brings out the richness and taste of the cocoa. I also recommend not to add the baking soda to the dry ingredients. I always add into the wet ingredients just before adding the dry ingredients to let the baking soda do its job properly. I hope that helps! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
These were amazingly awesome. I wasn't sure what to expect based on the previous reviews. Some people said they were dense, but mine came out quite fluffy. After I baked them, they didn't look as nice as a cake mix cupcake would, but I piped my icing onto the tops and they were fantastic. I used special dark chocolate cocoa powder. I look forward to making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Tastes great and the recipe baked super for cupcakes, no muffin tops spilled out all over my bake ware! I topped with buttercream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Excellent cupcake recipe. It is nice and dense and not too sweet so it is perfect for loading with lots of frosting. Make sure you get the oven temperature right and measure accurately other wise they don't firm up as they should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I didn't use coffee and I made a different frosting, but this cupcake recipe was okay at best. The cupcakes were very crumbly and spread over the top of the cupcake pan (instead of rising). Next time, I would go with a boxed cake mix over this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Excellent recipe! I didn't have whole milk - used 1%, and I just used my regular brewed coffee...which isn't terribly strong, and these still turned out fantastic! I didn't try the icing as I didn't have whipping cream, but topped them with cream cheese frosting. They were to die for! Almost everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I was really hopeful about this recipe due to the great reviews. I'm not sure why my cupcakes turned out as a big FAIL when others didn't. The only thing I changed was to double the recipe. The cupcakes were flat and spilled over. The worst part, however, was that you couldn't even pick them up without them losing their shape and squishing together. I ended up only making 12 and then trying to bake the rest as a small cake. I wouldn't have been so frustrated if they had at least been awesome in taste, but I thought they were a little bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hinds24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Great recipe. These turned out fantastic. Followed the recipe exactly which was easy and quick. I topped them with vanilla buttercream frosting but will try this frosting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I was a little skeptical at first because this recipe doesn't call for much flour. Even for regular cupcakes, I'd normally use at LEAST two cups. I read other suggestions though and because it had good reviews, I decided to try it. The things I changed was that I didn't add any coffee and used regular 1% milk instead. However, like some of the reviews mentioned, the cupcakes did not whatsoever hold their shape, fluffed up, and went flat and spilled over. I'm still wondering why this happened especially since I followed the recipe closely besides the changes I mentioned. However, they tasted great, but their structure was HORRIBLE. I'd definitely add more flour or something, but I don't think I'd do this recipe again. :\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
These were horrible! I am a professional baker - followed the recipe to the tee. First, these are NOT dark chocolate - they are barely chocolate. The texture is crumby and not at all moist. Like many said, they rise and fall flat. They are more like a brownie than a cake. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States