Ghirardelli® Dark Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Excellent! The coffee flavor is just perfect and the cakes were moist and fluffy. I love that everything is from scratch including the frosting. THIS is real baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I had the same issue with these that other reviewers had. They turned out flat and literally fell apart in your hands. The only substitute I made was peppermint coffee creamer instead of the milk (which makes DELICIOUS chocolate-peppermint flavor by the way). There's no way I can send these with my husband to his work for their Christmas party so it looks like I'll be up late tonight making a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I only tried the frosting, not the cake. I used with white cupcakes. Frosting too bitter for my family and ended up in trash. Other than that, it was easy to make and would have been easy to pipe had I not thrown away. Very good flavor other than the bitter part. Next time I will use milk choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Great recipe. These turned out fantastic. Followed the recipe exactly which was easy and quick. I topped them with vanilla buttercream frosting but will try this frosting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I was a little skeptical at first because this recipe doesn't call for much flour. Even for regular cupcakes, I'd normally use at LEAST two cups. I read other suggestions though and because it had good reviews, I decided to try it. The things I changed was that I didn't add any coffee and used regular 1% milk instead. However, like some of the reviews mentioned, the cupcakes did not whatsoever hold their shape, fluffed up, and went flat and spilled over. I'm still wondering why this happened especially since I followed the recipe closely besides the changes I mentioned. However, they tasted great, but their structure was HORRIBLE. I'd definitely add more flour or something, but I don't think I'd do this recipe again. :\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I was really hopeful about this recipe due to the great reviews. I'm not sure why my cupcakes turned out as a big FAIL when others didn't. The only thing I changed was to double the recipe. The cupcakes were flat and spilled over. The worst part, however, was that you couldn't even pick them up without them losing their shape and squishing together. I ended up only making 12 and then trying to bake the rest as a small cake. I wouldn't have been so frustrated if they had at least been awesome in taste, but I thought they were a little bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hinds24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Turned out good! Used Hershey cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I would rate the cupcake part of these a 3.5, they were pretty tasty, but they didn't rise up very well and had a flat pancake look to the top (I followed the recipe to a T). The frosting however was 5+ stars. To make the ganache into more of a fluffy frosting than a glaze I let it cool to room temp. then put it in the fridge for 20 min. when I took it out I whisked it for what felt like forever but in reality was probably 4 minutes. The end result, the most delicious chocolate icing I have EVER made. It piped out beautifully on the the horrid looking cupcakes. The taste was rich and chocolaty and not too sweet:) I'm still searching for that perfect from scratch chocolate cupcake recipe, but this frosting is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
These cupcakes were fabulous! Very rich, they taste a bit like a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
These were yummy cupcakes for the kid in all of us! Made them for an early Father's Day Celebration (day before) where there were kids of all ages (from 3 to 92). Used my own chocolate buttercream frosting and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States