Ghirardelli® Dark Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I was a little skeptical at first because this recipe doesn't call for much flour. Even for regular cupcakes, I'd normally use at LEAST two cups. I read other suggestions though and because it had good reviews, I decided to try it. The things I changed was that I didn't add any coffee and used regular 1% milk instead. However, like some of the reviews mentioned, the cupcakes did not whatsoever hold their shape, fluffed up, and went flat and spilled over. I'm still wondering why this happened especially since I followed the recipe closely besides the changes I mentioned. However, they tasted great, but their structure was HORRIBLE. I'd definitely add more flour or something, but I don't think I'd do this recipe again. :\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I was really hopeful about this recipe due to the great reviews. I'm not sure why my cupcakes turned out as a big FAIL when others didn't. The only thing I changed was to double the recipe. The cupcakes were flat and spilled over. The worst part, however, was that you couldn't even pick them up without them losing their shape and squishing together. I ended up only making 12 and then trying to bake the rest as a small cake. I wouldn't have been so frustrated if they had at least been awesome in taste, but I thought they were a little bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hinds24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Turned out good! Used Hershey cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I would rate the cupcake part of these a 3.5, they were pretty tasty, but they didn't rise up very well and had a flat pancake look to the top (I followed the recipe to a T). The frosting however was 5+ stars. To make the ganache into more of a fluffy frosting than a glaze I let it cool to room temp. then put it in the fridge for 20 min. when I took it out I whisked it for what felt like forever but in reality was probably 4 minutes. The end result, the most delicious chocolate icing I have EVER made. It piped out beautifully on the the horrid looking cupcakes. The taste was rich and chocolaty and not too sweet:) I'm still searching for that perfect from scratch chocolate cupcake recipe, but this frosting is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
These cupcakes were fabulous! Very rich, they taste a bit like a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
These were yummy cupcakes for the kid in all of us! Made them for an early Father's Day Celebration (day before) where there were kids of all ages (from 3 to 92). Used my own chocolate buttercream frosting and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
These were amazingly awesome. I wasn't sure what to expect based on the previous reviews. Some people said they were dense, but mine came out quite fluffy. After I baked them, they didn't look as nice as a cake mix cupcake would, but I piped my icing onto the tops and they were fantastic. I used special dark chocolate cocoa powder. I look forward to making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
this is a pretty good cupcake. :) it's light, fluffy, and moist (even without the coffee, which i don't like). the only thing i would say is that i would like more of a chocolate flavor. so i think next time i may add in something extra (to replace that coffee, too.). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodJunkie76

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is best recipe I have had for cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
These were really good. It makes 16 cupcakes in paper liners for me. The frosting seemed like it wouldn't be enough since I wanted to pipe it, so I added confectioner's sugar. I kept adding more and more (1/2 a big bag) to get it to a decent consistency. Then I had too much of course. It would probably be good to either let the frosting sit as described or use a different frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States