Ghirardelli® Dark Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I made a double batch, I used instant coffee with1/4 cup water and melted semisweet chocolate with the butter to make up the liquid volume, and used cream instead of milk. These came out dense and fudgy, with flat tops but tasted absolutely amazing. They needed the better part of the day to set up so they kept shape but once icing was on no one knew and recieved rave reviews from everyone who had them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brenda L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I love it!!! It turn out so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
These cupcakes are amazing! Moist and chocolaty, I followed the recipe to a T, using strong espresso and Valor chocolate powder. It's the Spanish equivalent to Ghirardelli. My frosting is perfect and I don't even like frosting! Fantastico! If you love dark chocolate then this is the cupcake for you. Thank you for this recipe, this is going to be my chocolate cup cake recipe for years to come! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I've made this recipe four times following the directions exactly, each time to rave reviews and great success. I always use buttercream frosting instead of the frosting in the recipe, and the combination is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I used this recipe for the icing only, but it was perfection!!! Everyone commented on how yummy it was!! Rich and fudgy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I used this recipe for a friend's birthday and they turned out wonderful! I read other reviews first and followed notes about adding in a bit more cocoa then the recipe says. I also added in the baking soda to the wet ingredients instead of the dry and because I am a Starbucks partner, I used Caffe Verona dark roast coffee as it is infused with cocoa during the bean roasting process so it really brought out the flavors of the Ghirardelli cocoa. Also, I didn't have whole milk, so i used heavy cream instead. I was worried that the cream might be too thick, but it made the cupcakes really fluffy and moist. Yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Made these Delicious cupcakes for my Dad over the weekend. Lets just say they"re all gone! So good. Recommend eating within 2 days after baking or freeze to maintain freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHASHA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I have used this recipe before. It is delicious and I added a few extra fun things this time. Wonderful! The cupcake is inside the Butter Cream Fondant cup with Mocha Ganache and Coffee Whipped Cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
These were horrible! I am a professional baker - followed the recipe to the tee. First, these are NOT dark chocolate - they are barely chocolate. The texture is crumby and not at all moist. Like many said, they rise and fall flat. They are more like a brownie than a cake. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Today, I made this for my husband's birthday. It was AMAZING! I'm not an expert cook by any stretch of the imagination, but the recipe was really easy to follow and it turned out well. I made a cake instead of cupcakes and didn't wait for the icing to set...we were too anxious to eat it...and it has been tasty, moist, and held together well. I also made the cake last night and covered with a towel to cool...it didn't dry out. If you are tempted to try this, go for it! When reading the negative reviews, you can see the people that had issues with their cakes didn't follow directions. If you use the ingredients they tell you to use (we used store brand), then you shouldn't have a problem. Very worth it and we will definitely be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States