Ghirardelli® Dark Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I have never received more compliments on a cupcake. delish with the peanut butter frosting on this site. I doubled the cocoa powder as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Tried these for my son's wedding. The cakes are fluffy but I had the same problem with run over. Am trying again and will put less batter in the cups. Fingers crossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Houdyshell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very, very dense cake, not too thrilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I made a double batch, I used instant coffee with1/4 cup water and melted semisweet chocolate with the butter to make up the liquid volume, and used cream instead of milk. These came out dense and fudgy, with flat tops but tasted absolutely amazing. They needed the better part of the day to set up so they kept shape but once icing was on no one knew and recieved rave reviews from everyone who had them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brenda L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I love it!!! It turn out so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
These cupcakes are amazing! Moist and chocolaty, I followed the recipe to a T, using strong espresso and Valor chocolate powder. It's the Spanish equivalent to Ghirardelli. My frosting is perfect and I don't even like frosting! Fantastico! If you love dark chocolate then this is the cupcake for you. Thank you for this recipe, this is going to be my chocolate cup cake recipe for years to come! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belongsinthesky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I've made this recipe four times following the directions exactly, each time to rave reviews and great success. I always use buttercream frosting instead of the frosting in the recipe, and the combination is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I used this recipe for the icing only, but it was perfection!!! Everyone commented on how yummy it was!! Rich and fudgy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I used this recipe for a friend's birthday and they turned out wonderful! I read other reviews first and followed notes about adding in a bit more cocoa then the recipe says. I also added in the baking soda to the wet ingredients instead of the dry and because I am a Starbucks partner, I used Caffe Verona dark roast coffee as it is infused with cocoa during the bean roasting process so it really brought out the flavors of the Ghirardelli cocoa. Also, I didn't have whole milk, so i used heavy cream instead. I was worried that the cream might be too thick, but it made the cupcakes really fluffy and moist. Yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Made these Delicious cupcakes for my Dad over the weekend. Lets just say they"re all gone! So good. Recommend eating within 2 days after baking or freeze to maintain freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHASHA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States