Ghirardelli® Dark Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I have used this recipe before. It is delicious and I added a few extra fun things this time. Wonderful! The cupcake is inside the Butter Cream Fondant cup with Mocha Ganache and Coffee Whipped Cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
These were horrible! I am a professional baker - followed the recipe to the tee. First, these are NOT dark chocolate - they are barely chocolate. The texture is crumby and not at all moist. Like many said, they rise and fall flat. They are more like a brownie than a cake. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Today, I made this for my husband's birthday. It was AMAZING! I'm not an expert cook by any stretch of the imagination, but the recipe was really easy to follow and it turned out well. I made a cake instead of cupcakes and didn't wait for the icing to set...we were too anxious to eat it...and it has been tasty, moist, and held together well. I also made the cake last night and covered with a towel to cool...it didn't dry out. If you are tempted to try this, go for it! When reading the negative reviews, you can see the people that had issues with their cakes didn't follow directions. If you use the ingredients they tell you to use (we used store brand), then you shouldn't have a problem. Very worth it and we will definitely be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Very good. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I'm sorry this recipes was a disaster. The cupcakes overflowed and then flattened. Sorry ;-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vivelle90
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Didn't make the frosting but the cupcakes were divine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I paired this cupcake with the Chocolate Cream Cheese frosting. I added orange instead of coffee flavoring and it was a wonderful combination. I filled the centers with orange cream butter cream with some fluff added. All in all it was a hit! If you mix the cocoa with a little hot water, it takes the grit out of the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Much like the other reviews, I found that my cupcakes did not keep their shape what-so-ever. Also when I made them they stuck to the cupcake rapers so they did not come out clean. I also tired the frosting hoping that it would be like the frosting in the picture, it did not turn out at all, it was more of a glaze texture. I fallowed the recipe just as it said and I do not think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
De-LISH! So chocolatey and and rich. Perfect for a chocolate lover! MUST TRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
The first time I made this, I made it to the T. For being a dark chocolate cupcake, I didn't get it. It didn't have much of a chocolate taste. My friends loved it, but for me it wasn't all that. However, the second time I made it, I did add two more tablespoons of cocoa to make it chocolaty. A tip: if you use instant coffee such as nescafe, put in 2 tbsp of instant coffee to a little more than 1/3 cup of water and let it steam, not boil. Stir and measure out 1/3 cup and let cool. The coffee really brings out the richness and taste of the cocoa. I also recommend not to add the baking soda to the dry ingredients. I always add into the wet ingredients just before adding the dry ingredients to let the baking soda do its job properly. I hope that helps! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States