Ghirardelli® Classic White Chocolate Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I gave this recipe 5 stars although I changed a primary ingredient - white "chocolate" (IMHO- a crime against real chocolate lovers everywhere :) to 4 oz of Ghirardelli's Semi-Sweet chocolate chips. The baking time was dead-on for the 4 small baking dishes that I used (just split it evenly between them, about 6 oz each). They were chilled for almost 24 hours before eating. Used raw sugar for the topping & my culinary torch instead of the broiler so it didn't really need to be rechilled. Kept one of these, before topping, in the frig for 3 days before eating and it was just as good, possibly better, then the first time around. Chocolate bliss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Great recipe and my new favorite dessert! The water bath works great. I used a pancake turner to lift the ramkins out of the water. And used my toaster oven on broil to carmelize the sugar and it took less than one minute. Stay with it during the carmelizing process to make sure it doesn't burn. Since I had a big dinner group, I carmelized the sugar and left them in the fridge for three hours before serving and they were delicious chilled all the way through. Added strawberries right before serving. My guests loved every morsel. Rave reviews with many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
this is my go-to creme brulee recipe (i'm a beginner creme brulee maker). i've made three flavors with this recipe: this flavor, caramel chocolate, and peanut butter chips in place of chocolate. they've all been delicious but this flavor was the best. the only changes i would recommend are: use boiling or near boiling water around the ramekins and have the pan in the oven already- otherwise when you go to move it some of the water might slosh into the ramekin. also, i cooked mine at 325 degress for 35 minutes and they came out perfect! let them cool a couple hours before adding sugar and torching. and they get better after a night in the fridge. no need to rechill after torching either. i might use half and half next time- it makes enough for 7 small ramekins and that's a lot of calories if you aren't sharing with a lot of people! cutting the recipe in half would work too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was terrific! Very rich but wonderful. It was very easy to make. Will make for after dinner dessert again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branddia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made these for dessert Christmas Eve and they were a big hit. Very easy to make and delicous. They are a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holden, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
It was easy to make and delicious. To caramelize the sugar better, I mixed equal parts brown and white sugar and then put it in my toaster oven for about 3 minutes. It had to be refrigerated again after being caramelized, so in the future, I will use a blowtorch to caramelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
What a fantastic desert. Made this yesterday had some today and if you love chocolate your gonna love this rich and creamy brilliant desert. Use only the best heavy cream, ( land o lakes) organic heavy cream, and place a towel on the bottom of your roasting pan. fill with boiling water to the half way point of the ramekin. Great tip to get rid of those bubbles pour through a strainer before you pour into ramekins. If you still have a few bubbles use your brulee torch on em and they will disappear. if you dont have a brulee torch trust me buy one at bed bath and beyond. good luck.... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great recipe -just a tip for brulee in general-use your microwave and a large (1 0r 2 quart) measuring cup. makes pouring custard much easier and no burning bottoms! use big cup for the hot water bath pouring also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The addition of white chocolate makes this one of the best creme brûlée's EVER!!!! This time I didn't have heavy cream so I used half & half and it still turned out wonderful. I truly recommend this if you like custard desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Super easy to make. My kids just kept saying, "o my god, o my god."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States