Ghirardelli® Chocolate Saltine Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
These are sooo good! The toffee prep was a snap and this came together quick and easy. The Ghirardelli Chips put it over the top (I used closer to 8 oz.) These will be added to our holiday sweets list this year for gifts and cookie/candy trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I make this but I do it alittle easier.. I melt the butter in the microwave and when fully melted I add that to my sugar (don't even use corn syurp), stir till well mixed than I pour that mixture over the crackers... I take a spoon and spread to make sure every cracker gets covered than I put that in the oven at 350 degrees for 6 to 7 mins or until it bubbles and gets alittle brown. When that's done I take it out and let it cool. Than I melt the choc chips in the microwave for one min, take out and stir... keep microwaving and mixing in 30 second intervals till all the choc chips are melted. Than I spread that over the cooling crackers. Again.. use a spoon to make sure every cracker is fully covered. Than you can top w/ anything but we like to top ours w/ crushed Health bar pieces. And freeze till it sets. OMG... This is one of the first things gone no matter where I take it and everyone is amazed that it's made w/ crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Oh my goodness! I made this in my parents kitchen just messing around, but it was gone FAST. AND they were breaking off pieces before it was even cooled and coming back for more. Very easy, this one is going in my recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
YUM!!! This recipe is delicious and I received rave reviews from family members and coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy M. Harter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
It's so funny to make toffee on saltines, but it works! My pan only held 54 crackers, and I used a whole 11.5oz bag of chips (don't think 5 oz would be nearly enough). I've seen the other recipes that call for baking the toffee, but I trust my thermometer more, and this turned out just perfect. TRY IT!! Update in review: Just made a half batch, couldn't stand it anymore, had to have it! One tip, for those who have problems making the almonds stick: toast them on the stove and keep warm until you need them. That way, the heat from the almonds will help melt them into the chocolate. (also a good thing to do when you're making peanut brittle!). Since I have discovered how wonderful sweet and savory are together, I also sprinkled kosher salt on top...elevates this treat to a new level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
omg so good delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
SECOND time around these turned out fantastic! The first time I used an aluminum pan and it burned so bad, I had to throw it out along with the pan. The second batch, I baked in the oven like another poster suggested and it was great! WARNING: Use a HEAVY bottom pan for these. Gave it 5 stars because it tasted great and felt the pan issue was my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moosic, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This recipe is wonderful! These came out amazing and will be made again as Christmas gifts. Just one little tip, it's best to cut them up before they harden, this was they don't crumble apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlena Hay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
YUM! This tastes like my fav toffee candy bar. I followed the recipe exactly. It really does take the 20 min cook time for the toffee (for some reason I thought it would reach temp sooner;nope :}). I used a 2.5 qt saucepan b/c the (hot) toffee swells during cooking. Get those almonds on quickly so they don't fall off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States