Ghirardelli Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake Hearts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This recipe is exceptional! I felt like a top chef winner after making it! To all the questions re: is 4 oz enough? Yes, it is. Having said that, I did add a full 8 oz pkg of cr.cheese b/c I never know what to do with the left over cr. cheese. The dark choc is so rich, it really overpowers the cheese flavor so I don't think it matters if I used 4, 8 or 24 oz of cr. cheese because the chocolate flavor really comes through loud &clear! As a previous reviewer suggested, I placed a piece of buttered parchment paper in the bottom of my 13x9 pan & it came out like a dream. No sticking or crumbling. In fact, the pieces came out with the cookie cutter! I found that rinsing the cookie cutter between pieces helped reduce the problem I was having with the cake sticking to the cutter. I might try buttering my cookie cutter in the future. Also helpful was using a meat tenderizer (basically a glorified hammer) to gently tap on the cookie cutter once placed on the cake & pushed it down as far as I could by hand. It really helped cut through the crust. Like many people, I could not find chocolate graham crackers so instead, I used a package of oreos with the middles scraped out & omitted the sugar in the crust the recipe calls for. I also reduced the butter in the crust to 5 T. to avoid the over greasiness mentioned by another reviewer. This is a 5+ star recipe & I plan to use it year round. Maybe star shapes w/white choc ganache & blueberries atop the raspberry coulis on July 4th.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYB5149

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
these are fabulous and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made the heart-shaped cakes for a special Valentines Day event. I used 4 oz of cream cheese and it turned out perfectly (1/2 of a 250 gram block for my fellow Canadians). I put parchment paper in the bottom of my 9X13 pan and buttered it; that made it a lot easier to remove the hearts as I cut each one. I had also cut a second piece of parchment in the same size and used it to plan. I traced around my cookie cutter with pencil so I could see how to arrange the cutting and thus, minimize waste. For the raspberry puree, I used a 400 gram container of frozen raspberries (we don't use ounces here) and added another tablespoon of sugar - that worked fine. I chilled the cheesecake overnight and the next day, I heated the leftover raspberry puree to boiling and added 2 tbsp of cornstarch mixed with 2 tbsp water, stirring until thick and then let it cool a bit. This thickened it beautifully for topping the cakes. For the drizzle, I heated 1/8 cup whipping cream in the microwave to boiling and added 1/2 cup chocolate chips, letting it sit for about 2 minutes and then stirring until smooth. I poured it into a sandwich baggie and cut a tiny hole in one corner to use as a decorating bag. I had more than enough drizzle to decorate them. I got 8 nice generous heart-shaped portions. Thanks for a great recipe!! I will definitely make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Soooo good! I was shocked to see the 3 star rating. I made this last night for my husband. It was my first time making cheesecake and it was really, really (I mean downright sinfully) good. I'm not even a big raspberry fan and I liked it. Mine turned out a bit thinner than the hearts pictured (I'll add a photo). I only made one change--honey grahams instead of chocolate. I think it was really nice contrast. I will definitely be making this again. I had no issues melting the chips as the recipe specified. I used half chocolate ganache and half raspberry puree for garnish. I had no idea raspberry puree was so easy--and so good! The hearts were tricky: I have four different sizes so I pressed them into the cheesecake and dug out around the hearts. Then I wiggled each heart a little bit to loosen it and used a knife to keep the crust from separating as I plated. I lifted the heart cookie cutter by the edges and the cheesecake *slowly* slid out. --To the commenter with the question about the cream cheese: yup, just 4 oz. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Oh my gosh, these are delicious. Went to 2 stores, no choc graham crackers so I bought choc stuffed oreos to use for crust. Didn't add extra sugar. They gave it a crispy chewy crust. Just the perfect hint of raspberry in the filling. Cut out two large hearts and had to throw the rest away to keep from eating it all by myself. Going to top with fresh raspberries glazed with seedless rasp jam and drizzle with white choc ganache. Actually quite easy to make. Hearts would have been easier to cut out with the graham cracker crust instead of the cookie crust. Can't wait to give to mu daughter and her friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This turned out wonderful! It was so rich and delicious and looked beautiful. I was suprised that I could make something look and taste so good. I did use 8 oz. cream cheese instead of 4 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
AMAZING DISH :) HOWEVER! This needed some definate changes. I don't know why in the world they only called for 4oz cream cheese. If you do, your batter will look like scrambled eggs. I used 16oz of cream cheese. Also, I used the oreo crust, I think it made it taste way more gourmet. good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joslyn.cardoza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Ghirardelli has changed the amount of cream cheese in this recipe from 4 oz. to 4 (8-oz.) packages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe Best cheesecake i've ever made. I'm planning to use this for Valentine's day dinner as well. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Are people NOT READING the recipe right.It states 4-8oz. pkgs of cream cheese,not 4 oz. of an 8oz pkg.If they would use the appropriate amount, they will realize how good this really is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shenandoah, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ringtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States