Ghirardelli Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I've made this 3 times in only a few weeks. It is beyond good. I almost dread making it because I know I can't just have a small amount. It never lasts more than 24 hours between my husband and I. I can't even make it for a party because my husband won't let me leave the house with it. It's fabulous. Did everything as instructed. The only ingredient I've changed is the chocolate. First time I only had 70%. It was awesome. Second time, 70% with orange. Beautiful. Third time 70% with coconut. Mmmm... Next up on the list is chili chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
THESE ARE WHOLE EGGS!! I started out using the flat beater in my Kitchenaid with the eggs, turning the speed higher and higher. Finally I remembered the wire whip, and used it the last 3 minutes on the highest speed. I've whipped some eggs in my life, but I've never seen whole eggs get anywhere near that thick and fluffy. It was amazing. I didn't have the Ghirardelli chocolate at home, sadly, and had to substitute Hershey's special dark chocolate chips. I know they're not as good, but it still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
A very easy mousse to make and very tasty and creamy. Not heavy at all or over chocolaty. This is definitely going into the 'keeper' folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
While this mousse was ok at best it was not worth the time or the premium ingredients that the recipe calls for. I made the recipe EXACTLY as written and it came out a runny mess that had an odd, almost "fake", flavor to it. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This turned out great! I found it a little rich (and subsequently could not finish my bowl) but then again, it's mousse! If you like chocolate this is the dessert for you! A few things to note: 1) One person mentioned you have to separate the eggs - this is not true! Just put the eggs and the sugar in your stand mixer, put it on high, and walk away for 8-10 minutes! 2) The recipe should say to use a double boiler to melt the chocolate. I found its wording unnecessary; this is a cooking website after all! 3) Be careful on how much coffee you put in. The coffee is meant to enhance the taste of the chocolate, you should not be tasting coffee! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justinm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
We were a bit disappointed at how much you could taste the coffee, so it just didn't hit the spot for craving "real" chocolate mousse. If you want COFFEE flavored chocolate mousse, this is pretty good. Otherwise, try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Really delicious! I halved the recipe and it was plenty, 5 large cups of mousse. I also added graham cracker crumbs to the bottom of the glass, and then scooped the mousse on top. It did not get extremely hard, but it was so light, airy, and delicious, the best I have ever tasted. I whipped my egg whites with the sugar in one bowl, the cream in another, and the egg yolks in another. Then I folded everything together with the chocolate and coffee. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Yum, so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made this for Valentine's day for my boyfriend and we both loved it. It was rich and creamy and thick how mousse should be. It was my first time making mousse but it turned out so great. I will be making it again. I also took advice from some other reviews and used only the egg white and not the whole egg like the recipe says. Still awesome tasting and turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psychoprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was really good!!! I had the same issue with bits of chocolate in my mousse but wasn't bothered by it. You are to use the 4 eggs whole, do not just use the whites like the one reviewer wrote. My thickened up just fine in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States