Ghirardelli Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
It was good, but the eggs never got fluffy and it tasted of very strong coffee, (i don't like coffee). I would recommend using sweeter chocolate and skipping on the coffee. Otherwise it was thick and wasn't lumpy like others have said. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This mousse is exactly what mousse should taste like and feel like in your mouth. It does take some practice to perfect though; like the chocolate bumps/balls/specks one can sometimes get and you must be patient. This stuff needs to set up in fridge and the longer you let it be the better it gets. Ive had three day old and its just way better than day 1 or 2 even. I doubt that I'll ever try it at 4 days! Just keep trying and dont seperate the eggs. Making this again right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Perfect Mousse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I have a stand-by favorite chocolate mousse recipe I’ve been using for years (since it’s Hubs’ favorite dessert) but today I felt like trying something new. I liked this recipe, however, for my own comfort I needed to make some modifications. First, I did not add the coffee. I didn’t feel the need to “enhance” the chocolate flavor, especially at the expense of risking having my good Scharffenberger chocolate seize on me. Second, I knew I’d need this to be sweeter and lighter. I separated the eggs, beating the egg yolks into the slightly cooled chocolate. I beat the egg whites to stiff peaks, adding a tablespoon of sugar (to one half recipe). I folded those beaten egg whites gently into the chocolate mixture. Finally, I sweetened the whipped cream as well, adding 2 T. of powdered sugar and 1/2 tsp. vanilla (again, the recipe scaled to four servings), then folded them in last. This turned out just as I had hoped – smooth, rich, creamy and deliciously chocolate. Since this was a special birthday dessert for Hubs (his request) I piped this into dark chocolate dessert shells, and served it surrounded by a homemade raspberry coulis. I garnished it with fresh mint, a fanned strawberry and genuine gold leaf flakes. Beautiful. Hubs was quite pleased. I’m rating this four rather than five stars, as I’m not so sure I would have been as happy with this had I followed the directions as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was a great, and very easy, recipe. Use the whole egg... I don't know why people insist on changing recipes before they try them. I only had semi-sweet bakers chocolate which ended up being a little sweet (but my husband and I are on the paleo diet so most things are sweet to us). I suspect that if I used the suggested bittersweet chocolate, it would have been perfect. -- semi sweet chocolate was excellent as well, I just might cut back on the sugar if I use semi-sweet again. *** NOTE: Mine came out runny so I poured it into individual serving dishes and let them set up over night (I think 2 hours would have worked though). Once I got to it, it was the consistency of serious mousse and I am confident that I could pipe it at that point to make it look like the posted picture. It needs to set first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I read the instructions 3 times before trying it. Never heard of whipping Whole eggs before, but Oh well, it has 4.5 Stars so it must need them. WRONG, what a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Used as a frosting, so good. Light and airy and chocolatey! I put cupcakes in fridge to set well. Very nice and will do again instead of traditional frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
adding hot coffee (or any water - even one drop) to melted chocolate "seizes" the chocolate which all instructions on melting chocolate warn strongly against. Substitute cream instead & add some instant expresso powder for coffee flavour. Otherwise, a tasty mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I've made this 3 times in only a few weeks. It is beyond good. I almost dread making it because I know I can't just have a small amount. It never lasts more than 24 hours between my husband and I. I can't even make it for a party because my husband won't let me leave the house with it. It's fabulous. Did everything as instructed. The only ingredient I've changed is the chocolate. First time I only had 70%. It was awesome. Second time, 70% with orange. Beautiful. Third time 70% with coconut. Mmmm... Next up on the list is chili chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
THESE ARE WHOLE EGGS!! I started out using the flat beater in my Kitchenaid with the eggs, turning the speed higher and higher. Finally I remembered the wire whip, and used it the last 3 minutes on the highest speed. I've whipped some eggs in my life, but I've never seen whole eggs get anywhere near that thick and fluffy. It was amazing. I didn't have the Ghirardelli chocolate at home, sadly, and had to substitute Hershey's special dark chocolate chips. I know they're not as good, but it still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States