Ghirardelli Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, but it turned out to be a liquidy, lumpy mess! I thought if I put it in the fridge for a while it would start to solidify, but it never did. It didn't taste good either. Even my boyfriend (who will eat almost anything) said it tasted bad, and that's saying something. If you're in search of a tasty mousse recipe, keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Thanks to "Obsieian", Jul.31, 2013 (I followed these directions word for word) it turned out fabulously well though I still had a few chunks of chocolate due to my microwave being less powerful. I put a little Grand Marnier in cordial glasses, then mousse and topped with Real Whip. I only needed 8 but it would have made about 16 this size. Just enough after a big dinner. Elegant and delicious! Many compliments and requests for the recipe so I am sending the link to all my guests. KayakG'ma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Turned out perfect! However; 1. Use whole eggs. I whipped for 20 minutes and they were perfect. 2. Make the cream and eggs first then set in fridge for 10-15 minutes 3. Microwave the chocolate for 15 sec, add the coffee, mix and microwave for another 15 seconds (There should still be a few chips solid, but they will melt as you stir. 3. Add the eggs to the chocolate immediately and mix (dont worry about mixing too thoroughly. Just get'em stirred together 4. Add the mixture to the cream and fold. 5. Enjoy! Mine was ready and perfect for serving right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
My addition to the recipe is a subtraction: leave out the egg yolks. Use only the whites. It makes it a lighter dessert. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla - because I like vanilla. Three or four drops of mint extract also works. With these changes it is a five star recipe, IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Mousse turned out as pictured! So I noticed some weren't getting the texture for the mousse in the picture so I will give some tips on how to achieve this. Ingredients are exact as recipe calls for, which means you use the WHOLE egg not just the whites like other reviewers have said. It is also unnecessary to cook your chocolate over the stove. So first you must put a metal bowl with metal mixer blades in freezer for 30 min before hand. Take out and add cream, mix with hand mixer on high for 7 mins while holding the bowl at an angle to let the cream get more air incorporated into it. You must use a mixer for this! Hand mixing with a whisk will not be fast enough. Next take another medium sized bowl and add all the eggs and sugar, Mix with hand mixer for 7 mins with the same weird angle as the cream to incorporate more air. The eggs will triple in size being fluffy and thick like the cream. put aside eggs once done. Take chocolate and put into a medium sized glass bowl, put in microwave for 15 seconds and ONLY 15 seconds! If you do this longer you will burn and ruin it all. Take out of microwave and add coffee, mix, then put back in microwave for another 15 seconds, take out and mix completely. It will be nice creamy and smooth. Then once this is done add eggs to chocolate mix completely with a spoon, then add cream and mix completely. Refrigerate for 2 hours in desired cup and then it comes out thick,and perfect like picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I thought this recipe was great. It turned out really well for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
will have to try this again. I decided to try the recipe following all the steps carefully, I already think it's not going to come out as expected. I should have known not to whip eggs with yolk, never turned out fluffy. I think you should edit the recipe steps, it looks just like pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beerUs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmartinese
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Superb! It does get a little dicey when you add the coffee to the melted chocolate. Do yourself a favor and have everything ready and in front of you when the coffee is added. I've made this 6-7 times and it always comes out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
It was good, but the eggs never got fluffy and it tasted of very strong coffee, (i don't like coffee). I would recommend using sweeter chocolate and skipping on the coffee. Otherwise it was thick and wasn't lumpy like others have said. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This mousse is exactly what mousse should taste like and feel like in your mouth. It does take some practice to perfect though; like the chocolate bumps/balls/specks one can sometimes get and you must be patient. This stuff needs to set up in fridge and the longer you let it be the better it gets. Ive had three day old and its just way better than day 1 or 2 even. I doubt that I'll ever try it at 4 days! Just keep trying and dont seperate the eggs. Making this again right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States