Ghirardelli Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Yum! Great recipe but I thought it was too bitter so on my second try I doubled the sugar. Hence the four instead of 5 stars. The chocolate gets hard FAST so have all of your ingredients ready and melt it in a BIG bowl so you can add it to the chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
YUM! I didn't have Ghiardelli chocolate, but just used decent quality chocolate and this was excellent. Most mousses I've made call for cooking the egg yolks - which too often results in tiny bits of cooked eggs in the mousse (and yes, I do mix some of the chocolate mixture into the eggs before adding the eggs) so I loved the way this recipe used the entire egg, not just the yolks, and didn't cook them. My family enjoyed every last bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I was terrified, as I've never made this dish before. But I followed the instructions (as well as suggestions from others) and it was AMAZING! Beat the whole eggs for 10 MINUTES! NO cheating! and it will turn out great. I left out the coffee & added a teaspoon of Orange Flavor. Just to let you know, it makes a LOT of mousse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was very easy and so delicious! Everyone raved about it. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, but it turned out to be a liquidy, lumpy mess! I thought if I put it in the fridge for a while it would start to solidify, but it never did. It didn't taste good either. Even my boyfriend (who will eat almost anything) said it tasted bad, and that's saying something. If you're in search of a tasty mousse recipe, keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Thanks to "Obsieian", Jul.31, 2013 (I followed these directions word for word) it turned out fabulously well though I still had a few chunks of chocolate due to my microwave being less powerful. I put a little Grand Marnier in cordial glasses, then mousse and topped with Real Whip. I only needed 8 but it would have made about 16 this size. Just enough after a big dinner. Elegant and delicious! Many compliments and requests for the recipe so I am sending the link to all my guests. KayakG'ma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Turned out perfect! However; 1. Use whole eggs. I whipped for 20 minutes and they were perfect. 2. Make the cream and eggs first then set in fridge for 10-15 minutes 3. Microwave the chocolate for 15 sec, add the coffee, mix and microwave for another 15 seconds (There should still be a few chips solid, but they will melt as you stir. 3. Add the eggs to the chocolate immediately and mix (dont worry about mixing too thoroughly. Just get'em stirred together 4. Add the mixture to the cream and fold. 5. Enjoy! Mine was ready and perfect for serving right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
My addition to the recipe is a subtraction: leave out the egg yolks. Use only the whites. It makes it a lighter dessert. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla - because I like vanilla. Three or four drops of mint extract also works. With these changes it is a five star recipe, IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Mousse turned out as pictured! So I noticed some weren't getting the texture for the mousse in the picture so I will give some tips on how to achieve this. Ingredients are exact as recipe calls for, which means you use the WHOLE egg not just the whites like other reviewers have said. It is also unnecessary to cook your chocolate over the stove. So first you must put a metal bowl with metal mixer blades in freezer for 30 min before hand. Take out and add cream, mix with hand mixer on high for 7 mins while holding the bowl at an angle to let the cream get more air incorporated into it. You must use a mixer for this! Hand mixing with a whisk will not be fast enough. Next take another medium sized bowl and add all the eggs and sugar, Mix with hand mixer for 7 mins with the same weird angle as the cream to incorporate more air. The eggs will triple in size being fluffy and thick like the cream. put aside eggs once done. Take chocolate and put into a medium sized glass bowl, put in microwave for 15 seconds and ONLY 15 seconds! If you do this longer you will burn and ruin it all. Take out of microwave and add coffee, mix, then put back in microwave for another 15 seconds, take out and mix completely. It will be nice creamy and smooth. Then once this is done add eggs to chocolate mix completely with a spoon, then add cream and mix completely. Refrigerate for 2 hours in desired cup and then it comes out thick,and perfect like picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I thought this recipe was great. It turned out really well for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States