Ghirardelli Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
So delicious! I took this to a dinner party last night and it disappeared very quickly! I did separate the egg whites and whip them separately as another reviewer suggested. (I mixed in the yolks after the whites/sugar were stiff.) The mousse was firm and not too sweet... everyone said it was better than restaurant mousse! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I used to be a mousse purist and would only make mousse that used whipped egg whites (no whipped cream). I like the addition of whipped cream, and the taste is amazing. HOWEVER, anyone who follows this recipe to a "t" will have a failure. Whoever wrote the recipe should be ashamed! You have to separate the egg whites and whip just those. As in some other recipes, I added the yolks to the chocolate (after tempering the yolks). I hope they will correct the recipe so people don't get frustrated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Yum! Great recipe but I thought it was too bitter so on my second try I doubled the sugar. Hence the four instead of 5 stars. The chocolate gets hard FAST so have all of your ingredients ready and melt it in a BIG bowl so you can add it to the chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
YUM! I didn't have Ghiardelli chocolate, but just used decent quality chocolate and this was excellent. Most mousses I've made call for cooking the egg yolks - which too often results in tiny bits of cooked eggs in the mousse (and yes, I do mix some of the chocolate mixture into the eggs before adding the eggs) so I loved the way this recipe used the entire egg, not just the yolks, and didn't cook them. My family enjoyed every last bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I was terrified, as I've never made this dish before. But I followed the instructions (as well as suggestions from others) and it was AMAZING! Beat the whole eggs for 10 MINUTES! NO cheating! and it will turn out great. I left out the coffee & added a teaspoon of Orange Flavor. Just to let you know, it makes a LOT of mousse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was very easy and so delicious! Everyone raved about it. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
TI followed the recipe exactly, but it turned out to be a liquidy, lumpy mess! I thought if I put it in the fridge for a while it would start to solidify, but it never did. It didn't taste good either. Even my boyfriend (who will eat almost anything) said it tasted bad, and that's saying something. If you're in search of a tasty mousse recipe, keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Thanks to "Obsieian", Jul.31, 2013 (I followed these directions word for word) it turned out fabulously well though I still had a few chunks of chocolate due to my microwave being less powerful. I put a little Grand Marnier in cordial glasses, then mousse and topped with Real Whip. I only needed 8 but it would have made about 16 this size. Just enough after a big dinner. Elegant and delicious! Many compliments and requests for the recipe so I am sending the link to all my guests. KayakG'ma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Turned out perfect! However; 1. Use whole eggs. I whipped for 20 minutes and they were perfect. 2. Make the cream and eggs first then set in fridge for 10-15 minutes 3. Microwave the chocolate for 15 sec, add the coffee, mix and microwave for another 15 seconds (There should still be a few chips solid, but they will melt as you stir. 3. Add the eggs to the chocolate immediately and mix (dont worry about mixing too thoroughly. Just get'em stirred together 4. Add the mixture to the cream and fold. 5. Enjoy! Mine was ready and perfect for serving right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States