Ghirardelli Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
This is the best mousse recipe! I made it for a party recently and everyone laughed when they saw how big the double batch was, but not a bite was leftover. I have never had a problem with it setting properly even though I don't separate the eggs, but I usually use a timer and whip the eggs for a solid 10 minutes on high. This is so delicious - make it and you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This was perfect. Used whole eggs and followed recipe as is... My boys loved it. It's my very favorite dessert ....highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Yummy x 10. I microwaved my chocolate at 50% power stirring every 30 seconds or so- this worked fine. Added freshly whipped cream dollop when serving. Whipped cream smooths out the strong coffee flavor a little- if you want to smooth it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
this recipe is awesome. follow exactly and you will not be disappointed. Do NOT omit the egg yolks as others say; it adds the richness needed here. you do need to mix them for over 10 min. awesome awesome awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This is one of my favorite desserts. I've made it a hand-full of times and it comes out perfect each and every time. It calls for four egg at room temperature, please be sure to separate it and not use the yolk. I tried making it with the bitter-sweet, milk chocolate and semisweet chips and I like the semi-sweet the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Needs more sweetness (which I added but not enough.) And if you're a real chocolate-lover and enjoy a chocolate overload then this is for you. I'll probably go semi-sweet next time. I didn't add the coffee my preference. I do admit with strawberries it wasn't half bad and the presentation was exceptional. I'll get this one worked out for us, because it would be worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This mousse came out perfectly!!! We used Bailey's liquor instead of coffee and it was amazing! I also used all four whole eggs and whipped them just like the recipe said, for ten minutes and it set up just perfect! You will LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Wow! My Dad absolutely loves chocolate mousse, so I've tried quite a few recipes over the years. This is the simplest by far and the end result was decadent. I made a pie using one of those Chocolate crumb crusts, drizz;ed w/ melted chocolate on top; it got rave reviews at our birthday get-together. (Fortunately there were two slices left for Dad to take home w/ him.) I did use the whole egg, not just the whites. It does not whip up like just egg whites would, but it does get "fluffy and thick" as the recipe states. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla, used a blend of 60% & semi-sweet Ghirardelli chips. Absolutely wonderful! This is my new "Go To" mousse recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I've made this several times without the coffee. Absolutely fabulous each time. I did whip the egg whites and the yolks separately as advised. I think I'll add the coffee next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
My family found that the bittersweet chocolate plus the coffee put the 'bitter' flavor too intense. I'll try again with semi-sweet. I did separate the eggs so as to 'meringue' the whites. I found also that I over whipped the whipping cream and it really was too difficult to smooth out in the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States