Ghirardelli® Chocolate Dessert Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kiele Briscoe
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I made the cups for mini cheese cake bites. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiele Briscoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nucla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rocky Ford, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
These are so fun and cheap to make. The only complaint is the balloons are pretty hard to get off. I found that if you really freeze them and then take a lighter and melt the balloon away it works pretty good and actually doeesn't really melt the chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earnold

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I was skeptical at first with this recipe, but it worked out perfectly for me! I did make one change..after I blew up my ballon to the size I needed I dipped it in cocoa powder thinking the chocolate would peel away from the balloon better. It must have worked because I didn't have any problems seperating the chocolate and balloons. My cups didn't look as pretty as the picture, but they still impressed my family at our reunion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Wonderful idea............yumo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
No Issues, No problems. Washing the balloons is a good idea. I would hope everyone thought to do that first. Instead of freezing the chocolate put it in the refrigerator for an hour to et it set properly Of course this adds to the cooking time, but it assures you proper set time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The directions are misleading for sure! You'll need to add 1 tsp oil to each 11oz of chocolate.To the chef who popped her balloons: your chocolate was too hot! Cool the chocolate for more like 15 mins. And use the small water balloons from the dollar tree. They really do simply pull away from the chocolate if you let them sit in the fridge for long enough. The balloons stick only if you try to separate them from the chocolate too soon! Good luck to all. Keep trying, they take practice to look beautiful,but are impressive on any level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
One thing I recommend is that once you have inflated your balloons, wash them in a very light soap-water mixture and rinse very well to remove any residue from the manufacturing that might affect the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This is nice - in theory. Tried to make the cups, but the balloons popped every time they got near the chocolate. Tried multiple types of balloons as well. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ssharp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I could not make small cups with my tiny balloons because if I made them small the balloon had a nipple and would not sit up straight. The balloons were hard to get out , I gave up and went on to a new dessert for my party. I wanted shot glass size. Will wait and buy at BJ's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Great idea. Bad follow through. Has anyone done this successfully? -First try popped the balloon dipping. The chocolate was too hot. -Second try the chocolate stuck to the balloon and the bowl collapsed when removing it. Added baking cocoa powder. -Third try the chocolate did not stick to the balloon almost at all and looked like a terrible blob of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Cups

See how to make amazing mini tiramisu treats.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States