Gerry's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
I was very hesitate at first to make this recipe. Not use to cooking from recipes, but wanted to try something new. It was definitely worth it. The Enchiladas were great!! Plan on making some for my next family gathering I host.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
My new favorite enchilada recipe! Next time I'll cut the chicken into bigger chunks instead of strips so they don't take so long to separate out. The enchiladas were well worth the work! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
VERY tasty, made this for company and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Oh my goodness!!! These are the best enchiladas; I made them for a small group of people (I doubled the recipe) and they disappeared in 5 minutes. They take a long time to make, one of those once-a-year meals, but the end result is excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
WOW!!! I've never made enchiladas before and how lucky I was to pick this great recipe! I will need to plan this for the weekends, since it took a bit longer to prepare, but was totally worth it! Thank you! -Gina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
This took a long time to make, but turned out GREAT. I brought it to a Mexican buffet dinner tonight and everyone RAVED about it!! I added a small can of diced green chili peppers and I layered the corn tortillas lasagna style instead of enchilada style. It was really perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
Yes a fantastic enchilada recipe. I made this as a special dinner for my girlfriend. She absolutely raved about how awesome they were. She proclaimed that these were the best chicken enchiladas she has ever tasted. They make rather large enchiladas so there were plenty of left over. I sent some over to my mother and she called back the next day saying they were great and that she had already ate them all up. I substitued a small can of mild green chiles instead of the optional fresh chiles and still got plenty of chile flavoring. A food processor would have helped with shredding up the chicken. These are truly Chicken Enchiladas of the Gods!! Thanks Gerry :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
This is one of the greatest Sunday night dinners; well worth the lengthy prep(easy though). I marinated the chicken in a fajita sauce (powder packet), and it tasted great. Spicy enough to satisfy the boyfriend, and mild enough so that I could eat it. My boyfriend hates tomatoes, so I processed the tomato/chile mixture, and that worked out great. What I do is boil the chicken for 15-20 minutes, then shred it with two forks, then I pour in the fajita seasoning with water, leave for several minutes, the pour out the excess. Then I follow with the mixing (no cooking, just baking). THANKS GERRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
Very tasty. Used mild rotele tomatoes with peppers instead of adding the chilis. They gave just enough spice. Reducing the liquid took a long,long time. I will definitely make it again, but not too often due to the time required
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
We loved this recipe. Be sure to add the yello onion, not the green onion in step one [like I did ;-] When I made mine, a 9x13 pan wasn't big enough, so I used another pan. It made 6 huge enchiladas for me. This is a great recipe that is really saucy; definately a comfort food recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States