Gerry's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
My husband and I thought these were outstanding. As good if not better than any I've ever had at authentic Mexican restaurants - and I consider myself an enchilada connoisseur. I used half of a large poblano chile pepper which are very mild in flavor and heat. You will not need a full 1/2 pint of cream. A lot of it went to waste. I had much more than 2-1/2 cups of liquid in the end so I measured 2 cups for the bottom of the 9/13 pan and dumped the rest. For me, the recipe made 9 enchiladas, stuffed to the hilt. My husband called me at work today to tell me how good even the leftovers were and asked how soon could we make these again. Thanks Gerry for a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This is the best recipe for chicken enchiladas I have found so far. Simmering the chicken in tomatoes, chile peppers and creamy soup adds so much flavor to the traditional chicken enchiladas. My husband and I have had this twice so far and the second time I used hot enchilada sauce and it made it extra spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JASMINE828

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
This is one of the greatest Sunday night dinners; well worth the lengthy prep(easy though). I marinated the chicken in a fajita sauce (powder packet), and it tasted great. Spicy enough to satisfy the boyfriend, and mild enough so that I could eat it. My boyfriend hates tomatoes, so I processed the tomato/chile mixture, and that worked out great. What I do is boil the chicken for 15-20 minutes, then shred it with two forks, then I pour in the fajita seasoning with water, leave for several minutes, the pour out the excess. Then I follow with the mixing (no cooking, just baking). THANKS GERRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Absolutely fabulous! We love it!! For the chicken marinade, I use the juice from two limes, 4 cloves garlic chopped and 1/2 t kosher salt. I also used canned Ortega diced chiles in place of the 10 chiles. Flour tortillas make a nice replacement to dipping the corn tortillas in cream and saves some time as well. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This recipe is GREAT!!!! I did make a few changes, though. I followed the recipe through step 2 minus the chicken broth. After removing the chicken I chopped it up and had plenty of the stewing liquid, which I blended with my immersible blender and used this for the sauce.(It is just that good!)I did reduce it some. I also microwaved the tortillas, so I didn't need the cream. I also left out the can of enchilada sauce, and the chicken broth. With the few changes this recipe can be made often and in little time. This is definitely a favorite. Thanks for sharing, Gerry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
Yes a fantastic enchilada recipe. I made this as a special dinner for my girlfriend. She absolutely raved about how awesome they were. She proclaimed that these were the best chicken enchiladas she has ever tasted. They make rather large enchiladas so there were plenty of left over. I sent some over to my mother and she called back the next day saying they were great and that she had already ate them all up. I substitued a small can of mild green chiles instead of the optional fresh chiles and still got plenty of chile flavoring. A food processor would have helped with shredding up the chicken. These are truly Chicken Enchiladas of the Gods!! Thanks Gerry :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I have made these enchaladas for a couple of years now and am told EVERYTIME that these are the best enchaladas in the world by everyone who tries them. I don't know what a "small" chili pepper is so I use 3 jalapenos. For the marinade I suggest Lawry's Havana Garlic Lime (I even pour the remainder of the marinade into the sauce) I also use verde enchalada sauce to top. Wonderful recipe! I want to give Gerry a HUGE hug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blind Guy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Oh Wow...I made these for lunch today. I was the only one eating on them since hubby is at work and my 4 year old wants pizza. These were very good. Tasted just like I ordered them from a Mexican restaurant. I left out the chile peppers, but added a small can of chopped black olives. I used flour tortillas and zapped them in the microwave instead of using the cream. I topped them with cheddar and mozzarella. These will definitely be made again. Thanks Gerry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This was the best thing my family has ever eaten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENE3660

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Need time to prepare this very worthwhile though.I liked it and will make it again. The use of (12) chile peppers makes it far too spicy for kids. I will make it in two batches next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States