Gerry's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Wow! As good as any restaurant. I followed some of the recommendations. My teens pick at tomatoes, but by blending them with my hand-held food processor, it was perfect! Didn't have chili peppers on hand so I used a small can of diced chilies. Although I like fresh, this is definitely the way to go. Heavy cream not necessary. I warmed up a pinch of non-diary creamer and it was just fine. This recipe is a keeper. Whole family loved! Thanks Gerry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very Very good, did not have chicken broth, added a half a can of water and it was fine. Not sure I really needed to buy the cream and dredge the tortillas in them. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This is really good - my only complaint is that it takes a LOT of prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bloomfield, New York, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I made this the other night, the only thing I did different was to omit the heavy cream and corn tortillas, we prefer flour. And the marinade I used was a chipotle pepper. They were so delicious! This is my chicken enchilada recipe from now on. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Everyone loves them, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Just made this and it was fantastic. I have never made Enchiladas before. I cooked the chicken all day in slow cooker with 1 can enchilada sauce and 1 can spicy diced tomatoes to give the chicken more flavour. Instead of dipping the tortillas in cream I fried them in hot oil for just 5 seconds a side. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was maybe a tad labor intensive and time consuming but the end result was so worth it. I scaled it up to 8 servings because the package of corn tortillas had 8 in it and we are feeding 5, some of whom are young men who consume massive quantities of food. The "6" inch tortillas seemed too small, I went with the 8 inch. I probably didn't need to scale it up to 8 servings because this recipe produces quite enough filling to OVER stuff 6 tortillas, or adequately stuff 8 - 8 inch tortillas. There was plenty of filling. The only thing I did differently was to add 1 cup of shredded queso fresco to the 3 cups of cheddar cheese, we like things a little cheesier with the queso flair to it. It was perfect. We served it with refried beans and I didn't have time or space on my stove top for the Mexican rice I usually make, but it would have been awesome at soaking up the sauce from the enchiladas. Will make this again, there are some things I can do ahead to make this easier and less time consuming. The end result was completely worth the effort. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These are so delicious! ... To save time, I sometimes buy a whole roasted chicken from the market and shred it, but anyway you make them, they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&N Q.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Love these they are really delicious but very time consuming so they are not good for a week night meal. Also needs a lot of prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was an outstanding recipe! The flavor was just so good that everyone had seconds & hubbie & kids took 3rds for lunch today! Thanks Gerry! Now, here's the few changes I made: I was using leftover turkey, so I marinated it in the Rotel & mexican stewed tomatoes all afternoon to give it some zing. I used 4 real small poblano's & forgot the jalapeño (oops). Since I didn't have any cream, I simply heated the tortillas in the microwave between damp paper towels for about 20 seconds. The recipe ended up making a dozen enchiladas with only one leftover. Guess who gets that for lunch!? Thanks again Gerry, it's a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States