Gerry's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
UPDATE: HAD TWO ENCHILADAS AND MY LEFTOVER RICE FOR LUNCH YESTERDAY. I ACTUALLY PREFER THESE AS LEFTOVERS. THEY WERE A BIT MILDER & NOT DRY AT ALL! These were just "OK" for us. Made 6 generously stuffed enchiladas for my bf & I last night. I enjoyed the 'bite' (I used 12 serrano chilies of varying heat & marinated my chx. in a packet of McCormick chx. taco seasoning mix. as directed - i.e. w/ 1/2 c. H2O). I do have a few gripes though: a) there is WAY too much sauce (despite red. to 2 1/4 c.), b) mix. 1/4 c. sauce w/ my chx. didn't produce a "paste" (I needed a tad more), c) I didn't use all of the cheese called for (there is NO WAY that I could stuff 6 (6 in.) tortillas w/ all that shredded chx. & 1.5 c. cheese - and I even used only 3 breasts!), d) using a full 10 oz. can of enchilada sauce & an ENTIRE bunch of green oninos is OVERKILL IMHO & e) there is NO WAY you need 1/2 pint of heavy whipping cream (my God!). My enchiladas turned out VERY soupy, even after cooling for 15 min. I did make 1 change that may have contributed to this.... Instead of dipping my tortillas in cream, I dipped them in warm chx. broth & then poured 3/4 c. cream over them b4 topping w/ (red) enchilada sauce. I've done this b4 (Whit's enchilada recipe) w/ AWESOME results, so I thought the same would work here. Served w/ fiesta rice, tortilla chips & Jarrito's Mexican pop, this was perfect Sun. dinner fare. I'm glad I gave this a try, but I still like Whit's recipe much better. Thx. anyways :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Fantastic! I used two cans of diced tomatoes instead of one can of diced and one can of stewed, I marinated the chicken in a packet of fajita seasoning and I served them with spanish rice. I opted against corn totillas and used flour because my mom and I don't like corn tortillas very much, and flour tortillas were easier to work with. These took a loooooooong time to make (from marinating the chicken to serving took me almost two and a half hours), and I don't think the chicken mixture simmered for me as much as it should have, but it still came out tasty and I'd say the extra time was worth it if you have a free evening and want to make something special. My mom and my brother both loved it and want me to make them again. Major props, Gerry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Not the best enchiladas I've ever eaten, but they were good and my husband and I cleaned our plates and have been eaten the leftovers for lunches. Next time I am going to use flour tortillas and add a little cream cheese to the chicken. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie A

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I made this with the leftover "Slow Cooker Turkey Breast" from the AR website. I shredded the turkey breast and proceeded with the recipe. I did not follow this recipe to an absolute T. I used far less chiles because I was making these for my Mom and she doesn't like chiles. She also doesn't like corn tortillas so I used floured ones. I warmed the tortillas in the microwave so I could avoid dipping them in the heavy cream. Turned out delicious. I had to add a can of black beans (drained and rinsed) and a can of corn(drained and rinse) to the mixture because I needed to make alot of these and I didn't have enough turkey. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Just made these for a Cinco de Mayo dinner and they were FANTASTIC!! They are just as good...if not better than any Mexican Restaurant I have ever been to. Even my husband (who does NOT like Mexican food) cleaned his plate! Thank You Gerry for sharing this outstanding and delicious recipe with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethpage, New York, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
My husband loved these. I didn't think that they took all that long to make like some other reviewers stated and I thought they were very easy. I bought chicken breast tenderloins which were very easy to cut into one inch strips. I then put them in a plastic zip lock bag and marinated them with a packet of Mccormick enchilada seasoning, 1/4 cup of water, and a little lime juice for about an hour and then browned them in the skillet with the onions for a couple mins. For the sauce I used two cans of diced tomatoes with green chile peppers instead of one stewed as I thought the stewed tomatoes would be too big. I also added one chicken bouillon to one cup of water and added that in instead of a whole can of chicken broth. The only other thing I did differently was I used flour tortillas as they did not have corn ones at my grocery store. Instead of cream I just popped them in one by one into the microwave for about 10 seconds each and that worked very well. This was great and I will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong....but when I dipped the corn tortillas in the cream they tore when rolling them up....what a mess. Had to go get flour tortillas and start over. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
The Best Chicken Enchilada recipe I have tried yet! The only changes I made were that I used canned green chilis instead of hotter chilis because I can't handle the heat. And I used two cans of diced tomatoes and chilis and a small can of tomato sauce because I didn't have any stewed. My family loved loved loved the taste and requested that I write a review. So Thank you Gerry they were fantastic! Do yourself a favor and make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eddievedderandme

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is a great recipe. I had it done in no time because I prepared the sauce, and took cooked chicken (I had leftovers from a chicken I roasted for soup the other night), seasoned with chili powder and cumin, and added it once the sauce had simmered a while. Also, I just used plain tomatoes and one can of diced chiles (not big on heat in this household). Once the chicken heated through, I made the enchiladas. I really liked this recipe, and thought dipping the tortillas in the cream was a nice touch. It was a snap to prepare this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This recipe takes a long time to make, but boy is it worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tin297

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States