Gerry's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Freakin' delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Husband raved, the kids liked it and it reheats well! I followed the comments and boiled the four chicken breasts in taco seasoning (you can use fajita as well). I also used flour tortillas instead of corn (I didn't want to dip them in cream.)I threw the diced tomatoes and a can of chopped green chiles (no fresh) in to the food processor--this worked out well. I also used a can of "regular" diced tomatoes (without chiles) instead of stewed tomatoes, as I didn't want the large chunks. I didn't put any of the filling at the bottom of the tray, just the tortillas seam-down. Then covered with a can of enchilada sauce, cheddar cheese, chopped green onions and chopped olives. This recipe is a LARGE serving--I ended up with eleven packed enchiladas! I froze an entire tray and had some to spare for that night. I will definitely add this to my recipe book and make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Brilliant! Gerry I could kiss you! Every one that has tried them loves them! I have made these 3 times in the past 30 days. The best advice I could give any one who is thinking about trying this recipe would be, go for it! I used half a 4.5 oz can of chopped green chiles because I couldn't find them fresh and the flavor was amazing! It was spicy but not too spicy, I can only describe it as flavorful spicy. I made it once with jalapeño rings and used one measly little ring made it to spicy and ruined the flavor. I preferred corn tortillas. Better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I made some slight changes to this recipe mainly because I did not have all of the items and did not feel those items were necessary, but I still gave it 5 stars because it was the best chicken enchiladas I have ever tasted. I did not use the heavy cream to soften the tortilla, I used the skillet mixtrue instead. Also, I made twice as much of the sauce (using same amount of chicken) and took 1 cup of the sauce to add to 2 cups of rice that was quickly sauted with 1 chopped onion, added 1 cup of water and cooked in the rice cooker to make the best spanish rice ever. 2 dishes in one. My husband and 9 year old loved the enchiladas and the spanish rice as well as my co-workers. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Perfect! My husband and I both thought these tasted just as good as those at our favorite mexican restaurant. Instead of dipping the tortillas in heavy cream, I used the sauce the chicken was cooked in. Tasted great and I needed one less ingredient and pot. I also used canned green chiles (mild) because I had some to get rid of. They added a great flavor. This one will be a staple on my menu. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made this recipe and everyone enjoyed them very much. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
These were great! My boyfriend eats with me and my family almost every night and never once until now has he asked for the leftovers. I almost fainted when he asked if he could have them for work the next day. He said these were the best enchilada's he's ever had. He even forgave me for asking him to pick up the ingredients for the recipe at the grocery store! My youngest daughter loved them as well. I followed the recipe except I added half a poblano pepper instead of chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scatcat ~ Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bremond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Simply Awesome. So good i'm making them twice in two weeks. My bride requested them again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chinadave

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! I think these are better then the enchiladas we get out at restaurants. I make only two changes to the recipe. I marinate the chicken in fajita mix before cooking & I do not use the cream on the tortilla wraps. I don't miss the flavor & who needs the extra fat?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southampton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
These are yummy. I kinda messed up the first time and they were still good. I used the extra juice and put it over rice, it was delicious. Also, I have made this as only cheese enchiladas, no chicken....just as good. Great recipe!!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamelabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States