Gerry's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Excellent!! Just the way the recipe says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Flora Hess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
me hubby and kiddo loved it. delicious, time consuming but first words out of hubbys mouth after his 2nd bite was "Well worth the wait". I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Feeda DaFamilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I started making these a few years ago and they are delicious! My co-workers were always begging me to make these enchiladas.. It is now a traditional dish for thanksgiving. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I have made this twice and loved it. Instead of a jar of enchilada sauce I used a recipe from this site and made my own. Enchiladas are made with corn tortillas and that is what I used. Followed recipe exact except to add a little Cumin to the skillet while cooking the chicken. Really good stuff here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This is my all time favorite enchillada recipe. I've been using it for over a year now with different variations. It's a very good, simple recipe that is great to customize. My kids love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
These are definitely the best chicken enchiladas but they so require a little more work than some of the others. Worth it if you have a little more time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for chicken enchiladas. It is so good! This is the favorite dinner of both my husband and I. The leftovers are still awesome too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
These were quite time consuming to make and not that outstanding. I felt they were very heavy and the flavors ended up muddy. I wouldn't take the time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
After the chicken marinades (we use Lawry's Santa Fe), it only takes about an hour to cook, and only 20 minutes (maybe less) of us actually doing anything. It's easy, with simple ingredients, and even though it's all from a can, it tastes great! I've never had a better enchilada, not even an authentic one from a Mexican restaurant. We usually use vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, which, in my opinion, makes it taste about a thousand times better. Thinking of trying this with fresh ingredients! I'm also trying to find a way to make this recipe vegan or vegetarian. Maybe I'll update this when I figure it out!! EDIT: Putting the tortillas in the cream isn't really the best idea, as I've found. Sticking the tortillas in the microwave between two paper towels gets them soft and they fall apart a little less. I've also found that using blue corn tortillas is about a million times easier and tastier. Oh! And! The amount of filling you put into the tortillas for this recipe is way too much. We can make up to 12 enchiladas with this recipe, so I recommend cutting back on the chicken. I would also recommend putting more of the sauce into the chicken to get a more flavorful taste. It doesn't really turn out very paste-like, but it's so delicious, my boyfriend and I can just eat it straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ruidoso, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I have made this recipe many times and everyone always raves about it. I have made it no less than 4 times and it is awesome every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States