German Zwiebelkuchen (Onion Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Excellent. Best served warm not hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Made this for our Oktoberfest. Everyone loved it except my husband. He's a picky eater anyway. I thought it was great & had several people ask for the recipe. I will make it again, but it does make a big pan & you don't want a big serving of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cornell, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buda, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is the recipe our German neighbors make every fall for their "first wine" party. Due to illness they couldn't do it this year, so I did. As usual it was a huge success. I served wurst,salad and wine. Apple tart for dessert. All was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I made this last year for Oktoberfest and it will be returning for this year. It is wonderful. The flavors mesh well together and it slices up very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Just made a whole German Cuisine meal for my parents 45th wedding anniversary and this was everyone's favorite dish! It turned out great and everyone raved! My brother suggested adding shredded hash browns and I might do that next time and make it more of a breakfast dish! VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delafield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
When I first read this recipe I read "4 lbs bacon". I thought it seemed pretty high, but whatever. I proceeded to cook the first pound...while it was cooking I checked the recipe...OOPS, only need 4 SLICES. *blush* I added 8 slices and saved the rest for sandwiches the next day. My children (6 and 4) just love onions so this was huge hit with them, the whole house actually! I won't make this too often, but when I do I'm sure it will be devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
We do family dinner once a month with a different theme... my grandma chose German and so I made this. I left out the bacon as I'm a vegetarian and it turned out really good. She especially loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Very rich, but very good. I did add a little garlic and pepper and was thinking that next time I make it, a little parmesan cheese would probably be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I made this for Christmas Eve and my German boyfriend loved it - several other people asked for the recipe. If I made it again I would probably just make 1/2 as it makes a very large pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
It's delicious. My husband loves it. If you don't have bacon, you can also use Prosciutto ham. There are a couple of stores selling it already diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States