German Zwiebelkuchen (Onion Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
Yumm.. A true taste of Germany. Brings back many memories. I have been looking for this recipe for years. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
I brought this dish to an Octoberfest and it was a hit with everyone, especially my 3yr old son! I did omit the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Made this for our Oktoberfest. Everyone loved it except my husband. He's a picky eater anyway. I thought it was great & had several people ask for the recipe. I will make it again, but it does make a big pan & you don't want a big serving of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cornell, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buda, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
When I first read this recipe I read "4 lbs bacon". I thought it seemed pretty high, but whatever. I proceeded to cook the first pound...while it was cooking I checked the recipe...OOPS, only need 4 SLICES. *blush* I added 8 slices and saved the rest for sandwiches the next day. My children (6 and 4) just love onions so this was huge hit with them, the whole house actually! I won't make this too often, but when I do I'm sure it will be devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
We do family dinner once a month with a different theme... my grandma chose German and so I made this. I left out the bacon as I'm a vegetarian and it turned out really good. She especially loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Very rich, but very good. I did add a little garlic and pepper and was thinking that next time I make it, a little parmesan cheese would probably be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Absolutely, positively NOTHING wrong with this recipe. It's just a matter of taste and although both my parents were born and raised in Germany/Austria this was just a bit too sweet for us. Yes, that's what happens when onions are cooked, but I guess we just enjoy our onions in the raw. No complaints whatsoever, however, no WOW's either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I made this last year for Oktoberfest and it will be returning for this year. It is wonderful. The flavors mesh well together and it slices up very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I made this for Christmas Eve and my German boyfriend loved it - several other people asked for the recipe. If I made it again I would probably just make 1/2 as it makes a very large pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
It's delicious. My husband loves it. If you don't have bacon, you can also use Prosciutto ham. There are a couple of stores selling it already diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States