German Zwiebelkuchen (Onion Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This was very good. It's pretty rich and kind of like quiche but not so egg-y. The recipe makes ton. I halved it and we still had leftovers twice. I don't think the bacon added much flavor. When I make it again, I think I'll double the bacon. If you're an onion lover, this is definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Excellent. I would only change a couple of minor details. Cut the recipe down to at 1/3 or 1/2 the size. The entire recipie filled 3 standard frozen pie crusts for me. You can use frozen pie crusts, but use a very shallow pie pan (similar to a creme brulee dish). It tastes better in a shallow dish with more crust rather than a deep dish quiche style crust. The taste was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
It was OK tasting, you cant eat much of it though because its so rich. I used Vadalia onions though and it might have been too sweet. if i make it again im cutting down on the sour cream, maybe subing some of the onion for potatos, and i might add some immitation crab meat for more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I was very disappointed with this recipe. The flavor was bland and tasted like a bad quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Foust

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Thanks for the nutmeg suggestions Lucy7. I'll try that. Though I'm German thru & thru (mostly), I just don't really like caraway seeds. And I didn't realize Germans used nutmeg as one would pepper. Love to learn new things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Made this for Opa B-day, huge hit. Instead of the caraway seeds used nutmeg (what germans use in almost everything, for them is like pepper for us) and yellow onion, can´t beat that flavor. I cook the bacon, discard almost all the fat from the pan and sautee onions in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
this is very close to the Zwiebelkuchen my grandma used to make an easy yeast dough would be more authentic in germany you can buy this in every bakery where it is served with very young wine (wich is sparkly and sweet) it is a seasonal dish so when you serve this... add a light sweet wine and a cheese platter with some rustic bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Placanico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babenhausen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Three Rivers, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
It's delicious. My husband loves it. If you don't have bacon, you can also use Prosciutto ham. There are a couple of stores selling it already diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I made this for Christmas Eve and my German boyfriend loved it - several other people asked for the recipe. If I made it again I would probably just make 1/2 as it makes a very large pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I made this last year for Oktoberfest and it will be returning for this year. It is wonderful. The flavors mesh well together and it slices up very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States