German Zwiebelkuchen (Onion Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I made this for my potluck and they loved it there were no leftovers! The caraway seeds were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHMEJIAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was excellent!! I made this for our neighbor's Oktoberfest. I also cut the recipe down to serve 8 and prepared it in a rectangular casserole dish, it was more than plenty. BTW: be sure NOT to put our onion skins in the garbage disposal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Great recipe! My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
My husband thought that he was eating his mother's Zweibelkuchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is the recipe our German neighbors make every fall for their "first wine" party. Due to illness they couldn't do it this year, so I did. As usual it was a huge success. I served wurst,salad and wine. Apple tart for dessert. All was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Just made a whole German Cuisine meal for my parents 45th wedding anniversary and this was everyone's favorite dish! It turned out great and everyone raved! My brother suggested adding shredded hash browns and I might do that next time and make it more of a breakfast dish! VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delafield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Excellent. Best served warm not hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This was very good. It's pretty rich and kind of like quiche but not so egg-y. The recipe makes ton. I halved it and we still had leftovers twice. I don't think the bacon added much flavor. When I make it again, I think I'll double the bacon. If you're an onion lover, this is definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Excellent. I would only change a couple of minor details. Cut the recipe down to at 1/3 or 1/2 the size. The entire recipie filled 3 standard frozen pie crusts for me. You can use frozen pie crusts, but use a very shallow pie pan (similar to a creme brulee dish). It tastes better in a shallow dish with more crust rather than a deep dish quiche style crust. The taste was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
It was OK tasting, you cant eat much of it though because its so rich. I used Vadalia onions though and it might have been too sweet. if i make it again im cutting down on the sour cream, maybe subing some of the onion for potatos, and i might add some immitation crab meat for more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States