German Zwiebelkuchen (Onion Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I love this! Awesome side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plumpy Nana Chow Chow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weed, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Spent 2 weeks in Germany and ordered zwiebelkuchen many times. This recipe is better than any eaten in Germany. I doubled the bacon. Served it at a German dinner party with 20 guests as an hors d'oeuvre. Great also as a first course. It was the favorite dish at the party. Will definitely prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
this is probably the most authentic recipe for zwiebelkuchen i have found so far. as i am german (now living in the states) i used to love this dish but never got around getting the original recipe. this one just tasted as i remember it: hearty but easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
My dad loved this, everyone else thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I was not really impressed. I did cut this in half because it's just my husband and I and I could tell it would make way too much. This reminded us of a quiche which we both really like, but this just was missing something. I'm glad we tried it, but we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
i changed the recipe a bit, made it more of a pizza style and halved the measurements of everything, i think it might taste a bit heartier if you use pre-made crescent roll dough or other biscuit dough as the crust instead of pastry dough, i also melted some cheese on top with 5 minutes left of baking, delicious! the pizza-style zwiebelkuchen bakes in half the time and would be quite nice to take to a potluck dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I didn't know what to expect with this recipe but holy cow! Delicious and different...I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Lecker Schmecker! Great recipe, but I do agree that you can cut it down a great deal. I cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Made this for a German-Themed Christmas Dinner. It was a huge hit! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking in Duluth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Nice, rich and wonderful. If you are new to German food, this is almost like a onion quiche. If you leave off the caraway seeds it will still taste good. This recipe make enough for 3-4 pies, especially if you use a shallow pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States