German Zwiebelkuchen (Onion Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Just a comment on Jim Whitford's description of when/where this pie is enjoyed. The correct name for the "Stube" where you will find these is a "BesenWirtschaft". This translates to a Broom Economy. The Stubes will hang a broom outside the door where this is served (along with the new wine). These only last for a few weeks and they they (by German Law) must close until the next year. And these delightful Zwiebelkuchens no matter which BesenWirtschaft you visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was amazing! The changes I made were minor in that it was only going to be me eating it. So I used less onions 5 large videlia(sp?) onions, 1/2 lb bacon, 1/2 sour cream and put it in a deep dish pie (with piecrust). I didn't have any caraway seeds, but it was outstanding w/o it. I did add a dash of cardamon and nutmeg. Amazing dish will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ijamsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I love this! Awesome side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plumpy Nana Chow Chow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weed, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Spent 2 weeks in Germany and ordered zwiebelkuchen many times. This recipe is better than any eaten in Germany. I doubled the bacon. Served it at a German dinner party with 20 guests as an hors d'oeuvre. Great also as a first course. It was the favorite dish at the party. Will definitely prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
this is probably the most authentic recipe for zwiebelkuchen i have found so far. as i am german (now living in the states) i used to love this dish but never got around getting the original recipe. this one just tasted as i remember it: hearty but easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
My dad loved this, everyone else thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I was not really impressed. I did cut this in half because it's just my husband and I and I could tell it would make way too much. This reminded us of a quiche which we both really like, but this just was missing something. I'm glad we tried it, but we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
i changed the recipe a bit, made it more of a pizza style and halved the measurements of everything, i think it might taste a bit heartier if you use pre-made crescent roll dough or other biscuit dough as the crust instead of pastry dough, i also melted some cheese on top with 5 minutes left of baking, delicious! the pizza-style zwiebelkuchen bakes in half the time and would be quite nice to take to a potluck dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I didn't know what to expect with this recipe but holy cow! Delicious and different...I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Lecker Schmecker! Great recipe, but I do agree that you can cut it down a great deal. I cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States