German Zwiebelkuchen (Onion Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Yum! So happy I tried this recipe. It surprised me how much I liked it!! "Cheated" with pre-made pie crust. Modified to use about 3# onions and half of other ingredients. And I spent the time to make the lattice topping...Beautiful. Cooked in less time- I think it was done in about 40 minutes. Definite repeat! Great with soup. Served it with veggie-cabbage soup. Leftovers were great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was very close to the way I remember it tasting when I lived in Germany 40 years ago. Thank you! I adapted the recipe for my vegan diet, omitting the bacon and substituting mashed tofu for the sour cream. I found one large onion was sufficient for two small pies. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Really liked this though it seemed a little bland / in need of more salt to me. (I notice, however, that no other reviewers thought so...hmmmm.) I halved the recipe and did not make a lattice crust but the top browned nicely, as did the Pillsbury All-Ready pie crust I used in my shallow ceramic tart pan. My out-of-state mom is of German descent (me too, of course, though more Italian than German); wish she lived nearby so I could make this for her. I like to make a few German dishes every year in October, even without having an Oktoberfest; this one will be repeated. Thanks, Bill, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I thought I reviewed this a couple of yrs. ago but couldn't find it. I didn't use bacon. I cooked some sausage, then cooked the onion with grated apple and mixed it all together before adding to the pie shell. Wonderful fall recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
We had Zwiebelkuchen in Germany which was prepared on cookie sheets rather than pie plates. Taking that into consideration when I tried this recipe I calculated it to 6 serving size and rolled the pie crust to fit a 14" pizza pan. This reduced the bake time to 45 minutes. I also omitted the caraway and sprinkled the top slightly with nutmeg and 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese. I will also try this recipe with a pizza crust base rather than a pie crust base just for comparison. It was easy to prepare considering I did not lattice the top of the pie as shown in the photo. It was exceptionally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Ummmmm. We loved it. I will be making this again. I added 12oz of turkey bacon and halved the recipe.... because thats how I roll. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steamboat2kansas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Garden City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I used a 9x13 baking dish to make this. It turned out great. The only changes I made to the recipe were to double the bacon and use about 5 lbs of vidalia onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
My effort was a flop. The biggest problem was the excessive amount of onions in the recipe. Much less would have been much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Just a comment on Jim Whitford's description of when/where this pie is enjoyed. The correct name for the "Stube" where you will find these is a "BesenWirtschaft". This translates to a Broom Economy. The Stubes will hang a broom outside the door where this is served (along with the new wine). These only last for a few weeks and they they (by German Law) must close until the next year. And these delightful Zwiebelkuchens no matter which BesenWirtschaft you visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was amazing! The changes I made were minor in that it was only going to be me eating it. So I used less onions 5 large videlia(sp?) onions, 1/2 lb bacon, 1/2 sour cream and put it in a deep dish pie (with piecrust). I didn't have any caraway seeds, but it was outstanding w/o it. I did add a dash of cardamon and nutmeg. Amazing dish will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ijamsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States