German Zwiebelkuchen (Onion Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Made this for Opa B-day, huge hit. Instead of the caraway seeds used nutmeg (what germans use in almost everything, for them is like pepper for us) and yellow onion, can´t beat that flavor. I cook the bacon, discard almost all the fat from the pan and sautee onions in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Excellent. I would only change a couple of minor details. Cut the recipe down to at 1/3 or 1/2 the size. The entire recipie filled 3 standard frozen pie crusts for me. You can use frozen pie crusts, but use a very shallow pie pan (similar to a creme brulee dish). It tastes better in a shallow dish with more crust rather than a deep dish quiche style crust. The taste was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
this is very close to the Zwiebelkuchen my grandma used to make an easy yeast dough would be more authentic in germany you can buy this in every bakery where it is served with very young wine (wich is sparkly and sweet) it is a seasonal dish so when you serve this... add a light sweet wine and a cheese platter with some rustic bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Placanico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babenhausen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Three Rivers, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
Yumm.. A true taste of Germany. Brings back many memories. I have been looking for this recipe for years. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
I brought this dish to an Octoberfest and it was a hit with everyone, especially my 3yr old son! I did omit the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Very rich, but very good. I did add a little garlic and pepper and was thinking that next time I make it, a little parmesan cheese would probably be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I didn't know what to expect with this recipe but holy cow! Delicious and different...I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
We do family dinner once a month with a different theme... my grandma chose German and so I made this. I left out the bacon as I'm a vegetarian and it turned out really good. She especially loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Absolutely, positively NOTHING wrong with this recipe. It's just a matter of taste and although both my parents were born and raised in Germany/Austria this was just a bit too sweet for us. Yes, that's what happens when onions are cooked, but I guess we just enjoy our onions in the raw. No complaints whatsoever, however, no WOW's either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This was very good. It's pretty rich and kind of like quiche but not so egg-y. The recipe makes ton. I halved it and we still had leftovers twice. I don't think the bacon added much flavor. When I make it again, I think I'll double the bacon. If you're an onion lover, this is definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States