German Zwiebelkuchen (Onion Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I was very disappointed with this recipe. The flavor was bland and tasted like a bad quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Foust

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Thanks for the nutmeg suggestions Lucy7. I'll try that. Though I'm German thru & thru (mostly), I just don't really like caraway seeds. And I didn't realize Germans used nutmeg as one would pepper. Love to learn new things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Made this for Opa B-day, huge hit. Instead of the caraway seeds used nutmeg (what germans use in almost everything, for them is like pepper for us) and yellow onion, can´t beat that flavor. I cook the bacon, discard almost all the fat from the pan and sautee onions in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
this is very close to the Zwiebelkuchen my grandma used to make an easy yeast dough would be more authentic in germany you can buy this in every bakery where it is served with very young wine (wich is sparkly and sweet) it is a seasonal dish so when you serve this... add a light sweet wine and a cheese platter with some rustic bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Placanico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babenhausen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Three Rivers, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
It's delicious. My husband loves it. If you don't have bacon, you can also use Prosciutto ham. There are a couple of stores selling it already diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I made this for Christmas Eve and my German boyfriend loved it - several other people asked for the recipe. If I made it again I would probably just make 1/2 as it makes a very large pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I made this last year for Oktoberfest and it will be returning for this year. It is wonderful. The flavors mesh well together and it slices up very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Absolutely, positively NOTHING wrong with this recipe. It's just a matter of taste and although both my parents were born and raised in Germany/Austria this was just a bit too sweet for us. Yes, that's what happens when onions are cooked, but I guess we just enjoy our onions in the raw. No complaints whatsoever, however, no WOW's either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Very rich, but very good. I did add a little garlic and pepper and was thinking that next time I make it, a little parmesan cheese would probably be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
We do family dinner once a month with a different theme... my grandma chose German and so I made this. I left out the bacon as I'm a vegetarian and it turned out really good. She especially loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States