German Zwiebelkuchen (Onion Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
My effort was a flop. The biggest problem was the excessive amount of onions in the recipe. Much less would have been much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Just a comment on Jim Whitford's description of when/where this pie is enjoyed. The correct name for the "Stube" where you will find these is a "BesenWirtschaft". This translates to a Broom Economy. The Stubes will hang a broom outside the door where this is served (along with the new wine). These only last for a few weeks and they they (by German Law) must close until the next year. And these delightful Zwiebelkuchens no matter which BesenWirtschaft you visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was amazing! The changes I made were minor in that it was only going to be me eating it. So I used less onions 5 large videlia(sp?) onions, 1/2 lb bacon, 1/2 sour cream and put it in a deep dish pie (with piecrust). I didn't have any caraway seeds, but it was outstanding w/o it. I did add a dash of cardamon and nutmeg. Amazing dish will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ijamsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I love this! Awesome side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plumpy Nana Chow Chow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weed, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Spent 2 weeks in Germany and ordered zwiebelkuchen many times. This recipe is better than any eaten in Germany. I doubled the bacon. Served it at a German dinner party with 20 guests as an hors d'oeuvre. Great also as a first course. It was the favorite dish at the party. Will definitely prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
this is probably the most authentic recipe for zwiebelkuchen i have found so far. as i am german (now living in the states) i used to love this dish but never got around getting the original recipe. this one just tasted as i remember it: hearty but easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
My dad loved this, everyone else thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I was not really impressed. I did cut this in half because it's just my husband and I and I could tell it would make way too much. This reminded us of a quiche which we both really like, but this just was missing something. I'm glad we tried it, but we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
i changed the recipe a bit, made it more of a pizza style and halved the measurements of everything, i think it might taste a bit heartier if you use pre-made crescent roll dough or other biscuit dough as the crust instead of pastry dough, i also melted some cheese on top with 5 minutes left of baking, delicious! the pizza-style zwiebelkuchen bakes in half the time and would be quite nice to take to a potluck dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I didn't know what to expect with this recipe but holy cow! Delicious and different...I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States