German Zwiebelkuchen (Onion Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I love this! Awesome side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plumpy Nana Chow Chow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weed, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Spent 2 weeks in Germany and ordered zwiebelkuchen many times. This recipe is better than any eaten in Germany. I doubled the bacon. Served it at a German dinner party with 20 guests as an hors d'oeuvre. Great also as a first course. It was the favorite dish at the party. Will definitely prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
this is probably the most authentic recipe for zwiebelkuchen i have found so far. as i am german (now living in the states) i used to love this dish but never got around getting the original recipe. this one just tasted as i remember it: hearty but easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
My dad loved this, everyone else thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I was not really impressed. I did cut this in half because it's just my husband and I and I could tell it would make way too much. This reminded us of a quiche which we both really like, but this just was missing something. I'm glad we tried it, but we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
i changed the recipe a bit, made it more of a pizza style and halved the measurements of everything, i think it might taste a bit heartier if you use pre-made crescent roll dough or other biscuit dough as the crust instead of pastry dough, i also melted some cheese on top with 5 minutes left of baking, delicious! the pizza-style zwiebelkuchen bakes in half the time and would be quite nice to take to a potluck dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I didn't know what to expect with this recipe but holy cow! Delicious and different...I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Lecker Schmecker! Great recipe, but I do agree that you can cut it down a great deal. I cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Made this for a German-Themed Christmas Dinner. It was a huge hit! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking in Duluth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Nice, rich and wonderful. If you are new to German food, this is almost like a onion quiche. If you leave off the caraway seeds it will still taste good. This recipe make enough for 3-4 pies, especially if you use a shallow pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States