German Twists Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Delicious! These goodies taste like a yummy yeast donut. . .except better. . .because the texture is delicious! My food processor was too small to mix everything in, so I just split the ingredients. But, it worked out fine. The cookies are time-intensive, but Roth every minute! Would be great for a special breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Sounds great, but I have a tip. When you are going to roll dough into a rectangle, don't shape it into a disk shape, make it a small rectangle before you wrap it to chill. Why start with a shape that will not roll easily into the desired finished shape? Makes it SO much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dee
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Very delicious and a special recipe. It is a bit time consuming but worth the trouble for an elegant and festive cookie. Chilling the dough in the 2 wrapped disks worked out just fine fine for me. The first roll-out does not have to be a perfect rectangle, as the first folding of the dough into thirds takes care of the shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I thought this recipe was easy to use and yeilded delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was a little challenging and time consuming, but magically delicious. Out of all the cookie recipes I did this year, this one was by far the most loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Recipe Group Selection for 11/15/2014 - These are phenomenal. My food processor was a little too small for this recipe, but I just finished it on my pastry board. I love that you can make them as sweet as you want by the amount of sugar you add to the layers. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These have been a Christmas tradition in our family for three generations. We love to eat them while opening presents Christmas morning. We call them Angel Twists. We make vanilla sugar to use when rolling them out. Instead of my food processor, I use the dough hook on my mixer. I have also mixed these by hand. Works no matter which method I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Very good and buttery. Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made these for the Recipe Group's selection for this week. I like these much more than my husband does--he doesn't understand subtle yeast flavor. My family members also loved these. I put together the dough last night and baked them this morning, following the recipe until I got to the second clump of dough because I used cinnamon sugar for that half. My dough divided into two 1 lb 1 3/8 oz hunks. I do think that when the dough comes from the fridge that it needs to sit for a while before working with it; my first one was much harder to work with than the second one. I rolled it out on a Silpat with a sheet of parchment on top that had been lightly floured. I kept losing track of how many times I turned and folded, but that didn't seem to matter much. I used a plastic knife to cut the slices which took about 13 minutes to bake. My family preferred the cinnamon sugar twists, but then we are crazy about cinnamon! Thanks for a beautiful new way to enjoy yeast bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I received this recipe over 40 years ago from my lifelong friend's mom who is now 85 years old. It came from her mom, who brought it with her from Sweden. It is spectacular and is part of Christmas for me. Her version split the butter into half butter/half shortening (I think because in the 1970s butter was very expensive). I will think of her everytime I make these at Christmas, as will my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States