German Twists Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was a little challenging and time consuming, but magically delicious. Out of all the cookie recipes I did this year, this one was by far the most loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I thought this recipe was easy to use and yeilded delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Very good and buttery. Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dee
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Very delicious and a special recipe. It is a bit time consuming but worth the trouble for an elegant and festive cookie. Chilling the dough in the 2 wrapped disks worked out just fine fine for me. The first roll-out does not have to be a perfect rectangle, as the first folding of the dough into thirds takes care of the shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
We like this recipe. It was very easy to put together and I did refrigerate it overnight as the recipe called for. The twists were tender and delicious, not too sweet. It really didn't puff up all that much for a yeast cookie, but maybe that was because this recipe called for no raising of the dough-just put it right in the oven. tip; we used a ruler and a pizza cutter to cut the strips into even 1 inch wide strips and it worked well to keep them a consistent size for even baking. Thank you for a great recipe-we plan to make it again for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These have been a Christmas tradition in our family for three generations. We love to eat them while opening presents Christmas morning. We call them Angel Twists. We make vanilla sugar to use when rolling them out. Instead of my food processor, I use the dough hook on my mixer. I have also mixed these by hand. Works no matter which method I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Sounds great, but I have a tip. When you are going to roll dough into a rectangle, don't shape it into a disk shape, make it a small rectangle before you wrap it to chill. Why start with a shape that will not roll easily into the desired finished shape? Makes it SO much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Delicious! These goodies taste like a yummy yeast donut. . .except better. . .because the texture is delicious! My food processor was too small to mix everything in, so I just split the ingredients. But, it worked out fine. The cookies are time-intensive, but Roth every minute! Would be great for a special breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States