German Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
My rating reflects making this slightly modified as follows: no tomato soup or water - instead adding: large can of crushed tomatoes, small can of tomato sauce, ~2 cups of beef broth & some paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This soup has a weird color to it. It tasted good, but it was nothing spectacular. My 14 year old son loved it, but my husband just said it was okay. I had to force my 17 year old to try it, and my 9 year old had no comment which is unusual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
something was missing. No seasonings at all. No salt. I thought too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
this overall was very good. it was alittle sweet but i think my friend put sweet baby cabbage in it so that may be why. will definaltly try again with reg. cabbage next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lussier25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
A great recipe! I took out the cabbage (not very German, but my husband doesn't do cabbage), added some paprika and it was very good indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was delicious! I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I cooked this at my annual Oktoberfest Dinner to rave reviews from my guest thought I had some secret from Germany, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I added a LOT more liquid to this recipe, in the form of a large can of tomato sauce and another can of water, because that's what I had on hand. Otherwise, it would have been more like a casserole. The soup was good-- a bit on the mild side, which is the way my kids like it. This is a good way to sneak some cabbage into people who say they hate cabbage. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Cut the recipe down to two servings and chose to leave out the meat. Added some seasonings and it was delicious and very filling. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
very good and I don't like tomato soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States