German Sweet Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by M Ocaranza
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I thought this cake was a bit dense for my taste, I'm pretty sure I followed the directions to the T. I did like the flavor of the frosting, but needed to make a double recipe even for this sheet cake. I added the extra chocolate frosting to add some visual appeal as well. I must say, my sister uses this recipe every year for her husbands birthday cake and it tastes devine...so maybe with more practice I will master it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Ocaranza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
topping is enough for 2 layer cake. had to double topping recipe for four layers. Otherwise, went over well with in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Disclaimer first: I only made the cake from this recipe, I used the frosting from German Sweet Chocolate Cake III... That said, the cake was fantastic! It's a little crumbly, but it is moist and tasty. I used a little more chocolate, but that was the only change I made to the recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is the first time I've ever made a German Choclate Cake. This cake is so-o-o delicious ! I'm glad I changed the white sugar to brown sugar called for in the recipe and I doubled all ingredients, toasted the pecans & coconut before adding them into the pot. I will certainly make this again for family and friends , but will make sure there are more people to eat the finished product besides me !! A decadent treat for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
The cake tasted great, but it was crumbly. I didn't use enough spray on the cake pans but the parts that did come out in one piece were crumbly. I had to use a chocolate fudge recipe to hide the fact that it was pieced together. So it was a learning experiance, next time I will use tons of spray on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I made this cake and it was a huge hit! It is now a regular favorite in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This was easy to make and oh so tasty. I had a hard time keeping my hubby away from the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This cake has a wonderful flavor, but I found it to be much drier than the standard recipe that I've been using for nearly 30 years now. This might be due to the fact that I baked the cake in a 9-x-13 pan. The flavor is very good, but I think that I'll stick with my recipe because it produces a cake that isn't as dry. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
This cake is delicious!! It was very flavoursome and a little crumbly but not at all dry. Unfortunetly it only held its shape before it was cut but it still was so yummy!! My Family and i enjoyed it still slightly warm with a bit of cream and ice cream and all the kids loved it and i heard raving reviews by all the adults. Thanks so much for the fab recipe!! I must admit i couldnt find any german chocolate so i used italian (as suggested) and it was still super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States