German Sweet Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
OK. Divine is the one word I can come up for this wonderful recipe. My 14 year old son wanted a ver special birthday cake and this is the one we picked out. It was wonderful and my family went crazy for it. This is the real deal if you love german chocolate cake. The recipe is written perfectly and I love the fact it is someone Grandma's recipe too! Thanks so much for sharing such a wonderful delight!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
This is my very first german chocolate cake. I made it for my boyfriend's birthday. The cake was very flavorful, I think the evaporated milk lend it a rich milk flavor. It was on the dry side for a cake. But since I never had a german chocolate cake before, I wasn't sure if that's just the way they are. My boyfriend (his mom makes him a german chocolate cake every year) said it was almost as good as his mom's. But he did agree that it was a little dry. The icing was delicious. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
I made this for a club potluck and everyone loved it...little did I know that German Chocolate was everyone favorite , so that made me really nervous. Thankfully this cake was awesome. I couldnt find any German chocolate so I had to use Italian..I guess it tasted the same...but this recipe will certainly be added to my regular list of cakes...Thanks for submitting this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
I confess i only used the icing part of the recipe, but its YUMMY. the only changes i made was to toast the pecans in some butter before adding to the frosting.. and i just threw in the whole bag of coconut. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I really like this cake but I don't think you need to sift the cake flour. It has already been sifted and it made the cake super light and it didn't hold it's form after it was cut and placed on the plate. It wasn't dry, just crumbly, but very tasty. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
This cake is delicious!! It was very flavoursome and a little crumbly but not at all dry. Unfortunetly it only held its shape before it was cut but it still was so yummy!! My Family and i enjoyed it still slightly warm with a bit of cream and ice cream and all the kids loved it and i heard raving reviews by all the adults. Thanks so much for the fab recipe!! I must admit i couldnt find any german chocolate so i used italian (as suggested) and it was still super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This cake has a wonderful flavor, but I found it to be much drier than the standard recipe that I've been using for nearly 30 years now. This might be due to the fact that I baked the cake in a 9-x-13 pan. The flavor is very good, but I think that I'll stick with my recipe because it produces a cake that isn't as dry. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This was easy to make and oh so tasty. I had a hard time keeping my hubby away from the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I made this cake and it was a huge hit! It is now a regular favorite in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States