German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
A couple of pointers if you're considering trying this recipe for the first time. ICING-1.) Make the icing FIRST. You're essentially making candy (creamy caramel) with this icing, which means it will be very hot when done. It takes a LONG time to cool to spreading consistency. If you make it first and then put it to the side, once your cake layers have cooled, it will be ready to spread. 2.) For a nice texture, cut the chopped pecans in a food chopper to small pieces. 3.) Is my icing thick enough? Don't follow the 12 minutes exactly. Instead, stir constantly and remember, think candy. Once the sauce has thickened and begins to come to a soft-rolling boil, it's ready. It should have a creamy caramel look and coat the spoon completely when you dip it and take it out. 4.) Use room temperature egg yolks and mix them well. Cold egg yolks may curdle and cook. You'll see them, they'll be the yellow pieces of rubber swimming around in the sugar mixture. CAKE-5.) Use cake flour and sift the dry ingredients together (take pride in your cake!). 6.) The same ingredients will make and frost a 3-layer 9-inch round cake. 7.) This is a light & moist cake, so remember that the layers will crack easily. Don't worry, just use the icing to "spackle" it back together. Your guests will be too busy licking the cake off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
394 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Eubanks

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This cake turned out really well. I had gotten sick of paying $2.50 per slice at the grocery for German Chocolate cake so thought it was about time I made my own. The sponge is light and moist. The frosting is yummy and I had to be careful not to eat it all before it went on the cake. Just a word of warning, make sure you seperate the egg yolks really well for the frosting. I got a little white in the mix and ended up with boiled egg type lumps in the frosting. Fortunately they were big enough to pick out and didn't spoil the frosting. The recipe is a little fiddly compared to a standard sponge and take a little while, but the texture makes it worth the time investment. I would recommend making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I used the frosting recipe, but only used 1 C. sugar. This turned out great. The store was out of german choco. squares so I bought a german choco. box cake. I modified it by making it a bundt recipe (a more dense cake) by using 1 sm. pkt. instant choco. pudding, 4 eggs, 1/2 C. oil, and 1 C. water. Spread evenly in 2 round pans and bake as instructed on box. I used instant chocolate mousse for the sides and decoration. It gave the cake additional flavor and texture. Who needs ice cream when you have chocolate mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I made this cake for my Wifes 5oth Birthday. It was great. I change the serving size from 24 to 16, and cooked in two 9" round cake pans for 25 mins. What did the trick was I still used 4 of the 1oz German Chocolate Squares instead of the 3 when reduced the serviing size. My Wife said I have to cook for her next 50 Birthdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I've been making this cake for many years. The recipe is straight off the box of Baker's German Sweet Chocolate. I bake mine in 3 9-inch round pans for approximate 30 minutes. I do make one tweak to the icing though. I always wondered why my mother-in law's cake turned so much better than mine since we used the same recipe. She finally told me her' secret'. Add 2 oz. of the Sweet German Chocolate squares to the frosting. It makes a world of difference. One more thing, since there's just 2 of us, we can't eat the whole cake, so I cut it into individual slices, freeze them on a cookie sheet, then vacuum seal the slices. Works really well and we can have a slice of cake when we want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebiMcG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Everyone loved this cake, even my father-in-law who can be pretty critical of cooks sometimes. The only change I had to make was that it took nearly an hour to cook all the way through in a 9x13. It still turned out lovely, but something to keep in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swanton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This was a delicious and very easy german chocolate cake. I have to make it every year for my husband's birthday. This recipe was very time saving and just as good as the 3 layer one, but much quicker to make. This recipe is GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Wowee!!! This was a great recipe. I'll definately make this one for years to come. The cake is very moist, great chocolate taste, it is also rich. I did have frosting left over. Look no further for a german chocolate cake recipe! This one is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
this was my first time at baking a german chocolate cake that did'nt come from a box,and i have to tell you this was very good,toasted the coconut and pecans added dark chocolate on top as decoration.try this its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is the first cake I have ever baked from scratch and I was so nervous but it was PERFECT!! It was so moist but still had the best texture to it. I was thrilled and so was my husband. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ga_betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States