German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Loved the recipe and I second the idea of making the icing before the cake. Only negative comment is it took me way longer to get the cake to set than the recommended 30min - still thinking I must have just read that wrong. But it tasted divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreannaDrew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Yum! The icing on this was divine, and the cake managed to be both moist and spongy. I cut back on the sugar a little bit (1 2/3 cup in the cake and 1 1/4 cup in the icing) and will probably cut it back a little further next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Incredible. Used a 9x13 pan and baked for 50 minutes. At 30 minutes it was still soupy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I made this cake for a friend for his birthday, and everyone LOVED it! It was scrumptious!! I made the frosting first per the advice of a reviewer, and by the time the cakes were cooled the frosting was cooled as well! Worked out perfectly!! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
per the advice of other reviews I used 6 oz german chocolate squares and cake flour, otherwise stuck to the recipe. I sifted the dry ingredients as well and relied on color/consistency rather than the time provided (12min) for the frosting. Making this cake was time consuming, the frosting especially, but well worth it. everyone loved it. i suggest using parchment paper in bottom of cake pan(s) (i made 3- 9in round layers). The batter has a mouse-like consistency. next time i will make this cake using only 4 chocolate squares, with 6 it was almost too chocolaty but was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msmoemoe
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This cake is soooo good. I made it for the first time yesterday. It was very easy. The only thing different that I did was to boil the water first and I broke the chocolate into pieces and stirred that's it. Please let the frosting set before placing on the cake it makes a difference. Thanks for such a beautiful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Oh, my - this is the REAL DEAL. Fairly easy, and absolutely delicious. For some reason, the cake tastes even better after sitting for a few days - if it lasts that long at your house. I don't know why. Maybe the flavors had a chance to blend and mellow out. Whatever the reason, I will DEFINITELY be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janelle Williams Hawthorne
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
it;s a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Delicious cake! I left out the egg whites to have a fudgier cake. Everyone loves it when I make this cake. To add some variety, try making this cake recipe with the recipe for whipped cream cream cheese frosting on this site. I have yet to find someone who is not in love with that combination. It's what I made for my daughter's 1st birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This recipe is amazing...the cake turned out very moist and much better than any german chocolate cake I've ever had...thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States