German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This is a WONDERFUL recipe! This was my first time baking a German Chocolate cake so it was a little time consuming for me, but WELL WORTH IT!!! The cake turned out GREAT!!! Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
It was a delicious cake..I plan to reuse this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This cake was so fabulous and moist, my only problem with it was with the chocolate. Originally it says "German Sweet Chocolate." This translated to me as a milk chocolate, and because of the lack of specialty items at my local grocery store I had to make do. When I was finally done with all my ingredients I realized the color was way too light, and for a cake known to be chocolatey this was a problem. I added more semisweet and dark chocolate (it was all I had on hand). The end result was still great. Four stars for the chocolate issues, and I found that my cake took longer to cook than the recipe called for. The same goes for my icing, it took a lot longer to thicken. But it all came out super moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I used this recipe to make a four layer cake. It was very easy to work with and did not crumble or crack. The flavor was EXCELLENT! It seemed a little dry to me on the first day. But, after letting it sit over night it was a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Riley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I made this for my husband's birthday... I was a bit nervous because I had never made a cake completely from scratch. But I just followed all of the directions to a T, with the exception of two things: I doubled the coconut in the frosting. I also doubled the butter to make it super rich, and came out fantastic. I covered the sides with chocolate frosting, and put decorative frosting around the edge and voila! Came out beautifully, and everyone loveeeeeeeed it. They couldn't stop telling me how good it was. Next time I might put a little less butter but I liked the consistency it had, as I've always liked german chocolate cake very rich. Anyway, I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
8 EGG VERSION: I made this for my 22 YO son's birthday party. I had memorized it, earlier, and was thinking it called for 8 eggs, just in the cake! (I later realized that it was 8 total, with the frosting.) The 8 eggs were actually a happy mistake! The batter was extremely fluffy. The extra eggs added body to the cake and made it a little less sweet and more like a European cake. I had some batter leftover, which I used for a few cupcakes, frosted with vanilla frosting, for family members who don't like coconut and nuts. I cut down the butter in the coconut-pecan frosting to 1/2 cup and didn't notice the difference. I also made some light chocolate whipped cream to go with it. LIGHT CHOCOLATE WHIPPED CREAM Melt a half-teaspoonful of plain gelatin in 2 tablespoons of very warm milk, quickly cooled to room temperature and added to a pint of heavy cream. Whip stiffly, add 1/2 C powdered sugar, small pinch salt, 2-3 teaspoons of cocoa powder, 1/2 t. vanilla. I was going to frost the sides of the cake with the cream, but decided to just put a dollop on the plate and it was wonderful! I always use gelatin in whipped cream. It keeps it from separating, so you can make it ahead, or keep leftovers for several days without losing quality. My family inhaled this cake! Even my daughter-in-law who doesn't like chocolate liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noelani54

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I've been making this cake for many years. The recipe is straight off the box of Baker's German Sweet Chocolate. I bake mine in 3 9-inch round pans for approximate 30 minutes. I do make one tweak to the icing though. I always wondered why my mother-in law's cake turned so much better than mine since we used the same recipe. She finally told me her' secret'. Add 2 oz. of the Sweet German Chocolate squares to the frosting. It makes a world of difference. One more thing, since there's just 2 of us, we can't eat the whole cake, so I cut it into individual slices, freeze them on a cookie sheet, then vacuum seal the slices. Works really well and we can have a slice of cake when we want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Blair McGinness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I've made it twice, neither time it was ediable. I won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Osborn, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
My 12 year old son made this cake twice for a class project. There are a lot of steps but it makes a wonderful cake. We used a 9x13" pan and had to bake it for 50 min at 350 degrees. At 30 min it was still a pool of yummy chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Wow! What a cake! I do have to say that using a 9X13 pan is impractical. The baking time given (30 minutes) is for 2-4 round 9 inch pans, not one sheet cake. As a sheet cake it takes closer to an hour to bake!! The topping is absolutely delicious! I love the Evaporated milk instead of what i've seen in other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krystaharder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States