German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Airy , like angel food but not so spongey. The day I made it, it was ok; not as sweet as I'd expected (or would have liked). The next day, after refrigeration, it was FABULOUS. Husband said best G.C. cake he'd ever had anywhere. I used 2c + 4T cake flour instead of regular. The frosting made a lot. I used sweetened coconut, though the ingredients didn't specifiy sweetemed vs unsweetened. Glad I made frosting before making the cake b/c as another reviewer said, it takes a long time to cool. I expect my guests will like it. Also, mine took 45 minutes to bake. I kept checking, and it really wasn't finished until 45 minutes. The prep time was 35-40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
My dad past away 8 years ago and I made this cake in honor of him. It was his favorite cake. I NEVER EVER liked German Chocolate Cake before trying this recipe. It's the best I've ever had!!! Per suggestions of others, I made the icing 1st and did not add cornstarch and it came out perfect. I continued to cook it longer than recommended stirring consistently until it was thick as if making candy. I also made sure the egg yolks were room temperature so that they wouldn't curdle. Muy Perfecto!!! Dad, I wish you were here to taste this. You would be proud of your little girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
My rating is just for the cake...not the icing. The cake was a bit more work than a lot of them, but it was worth the effort. It is so rich and moist. The frosting was a disaster...too much coconut and not enough icing to bind it together. I sat and picked out the pecan pieces, one at a time and chopped them finer. Then I made an icing from a recipe calling for brown sugar instead of white and only added about 1 1/3 cups of coconut. It was wicked good. Thanks Cindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This cake is delicious. It is moist and melts in your mouth. Like others have suggested, think of the frosting as candy...it may take longer than the 12 minutes stated in the recipe. Also toast the pecans and coconut for a richer flavor. I will definitely be making this again (SOON)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made this for my husband's birthday. It was a little bit of work but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
The cake is just OK. I would not eat it alone and will not make it again (far to labor intensive for a just so-so cake). However, the frosting was out-of-this-world!!!! It was extraordinary! Next time I plan to make the frosting and use it on a different chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
THis is far the best German cake I ever had. Remember to add warm frosting to warm cake it will give the cake moister, if you dont it will come out dry. I also tryed German chocolate cake III from this site its the same as this one but uses cake flour I tryed both and this is the keeper one. This one is way better !! I also used 3 round pan to stack the cake worked perfectly .Thanks for sharing and god bless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This turned out very well! My husband liked this cake much better than my go-to chocolate! The topping is decadent and should be parcelled out in small bits or you may slip into a diabetic coma. Very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnbot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Frosting I had to get it to a rolling boil to get that golden brown...I let it cook at about 6 on setting for about 8 mins , then I put it on 9 for a few mins then truned it til 8 and kept stirring for about 3 or 4 mins and it turned golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sohol

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I made two of these for a large birthday party. I incorporated some changes with each in order to experiment and have some words of advice, as a result. I compared the two cakes with the changes and here are my best recommendations: 1. I made my frosting first in order to give it time to cool to spreading consistency. 2. I also added 2 oz of melted chocolate to the frosting for a deeper flavor-this made an amazing difference. 3. I toasted my pecans and coconut at 350 for 15 min 4. I increased the amount of chocolate in the cake to 6 oz 5. It is extremely important not to over-mix the batter from the point of adding the flour mixture. I did this with only one of my cakes, and it was dry and crumbly-the other one was moist and delicious. 6. I do not think the chocolate on the top was necessary, and did not add to the the overall taste of the cake. I also came across an interesting fact while researching: German Chocolate Cake has nothing to do with Germany. It is an American creation. Sam German was a 19th century chocolate maker. In 1952, General Foods, the makers of Baker's chocolate, used his name when creating the recipe, which was originally called German's Chocolate Cake. Overall, this recipe is delicious, and with the changes that I incorporated, it was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States