German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I made this for my husband's birthday and it was a success! He loved it! It was so good! A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Very tasty! The only difference from the recipe was that I ended up cooking the frosting longer than the recommended time because it was still too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Have never made a german chocolate cake from scratch before, but I followed this recipe exactly and it was wonderful!!!! Everyone said it was the best German Chocolate Cake they have ever eaten!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyestep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
so good! no changes necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Holy Cow! I was the most popular gal at the party with this cake! It was amazing and really pretty easy to make.....even without a mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Airy , like angel food but not so spongey. The day I made it, it was ok; not as sweet as I'd expected (or would have liked). The next day, after refrigeration, it was FABULOUS. Husband said best G.C. cake he'd ever had anywhere. I used 2c + 4T cake flour instead of regular. The frosting made a lot. I used sweetened coconut, though the ingredients didn't specifiy sweetemed vs unsweetened. Glad I made frosting before making the cake b/c as another reviewer said, it takes a long time to cool. I expect my guests will like it. Also, mine took 45 minutes to bake. I kept checking, and it really wasn't finished until 45 minutes. The prep time was 35-40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
My dad past away 8 years ago and I made this cake in honor of him. It was his favorite cake. I NEVER EVER liked German Chocolate Cake before trying this recipe. It's the best I've ever had!!! Per suggestions of others, I made the icing 1st and did not add cornstarch and it came out perfect. I continued to cook it longer than recommended stirring consistently until it was thick as if making candy. I also made sure the egg yolks were room temperature so that they wouldn't curdle. Muy Perfecto!!! Dad, I wish you were here to taste this. You would be proud of your little girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
My rating is just for the cake...not the icing. The cake was a bit more work than a lot of them, but it was worth the effort. It is so rich and moist. The frosting was a disaster...too much coconut and not enough icing to bind it together. I sat and picked out the pecan pieces, one at a time and chopped them finer. Then I made an icing from a recipe calling for brown sugar instead of white and only added about 1 1/3 cups of coconut. It was wicked good. Thanks Cindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This cake is delicious. It is moist and melts in your mouth. Like others have suggested, think of the frosting as candy...it may take longer than the 12 minutes stated in the recipe. Also toast the pecans and coconut for a richer flavor. I will definitely be making this again (SOON)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made this for my husband's birthday. It was a little bit of work but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States