German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I made this cake for a friend's birthday. It turned out to be the best cake I've made so far! I saw others thought it might not be chocolatey enough so I added about 3 Tablespoons of cocoa powder to the dry ingredients and I guess that did the trick because it tasted plenty chocolatey to me. I also added about 1/4 c sour cream before folding in the egg whites to make it more moist and substituted 1c and 2 Tbsp cake flour for every cup of flour. It came out with a wonderful texture. Moist, but not so moist that it feel apart. I frosted it with the frosting recipe included. I followed others directions and let my egg yolks come to room temperature and didn't have a problem with them mixing in smoothly. It yielded enough frosting for me to frost the tops of the 3 layer cake. I frosted the sides with chocolate butter cream. This cake was completely gone within 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Would be nice to rewrite the recipe and OVER emphasize that the eggs need to be room temp for the icing instead of having to find out the hard way or sift through a hundred reviews to find that out. The cake fell. I have two concave discs. This was supposed to be for my husbands birthday but its pretty much ruined. I might try this again someday but the ingredients were expensive and it took way too much effort. So, maybe not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBAMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Excellent....going into my recipe book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabrielmihaly
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
We loved,one substitution I added half a cup of rum instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielmihaly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Good recipe. The frosting took much longer than 12 minutes. I added some additional sugar to try to thicken it, and then finally just gave up. It did turn out delicious, though! The rest of the recipe I followed unchanged. Baked in two 9" rounds for 30 minutes. Making the frosting first was definitely the way to go -- I let the frosting cool FULLY to room temp, and racked the cakes to cool fully before frosting, so it went just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This was the best german chocolate cake I have ever eaten. So moist and yummy! Got better the longer it sat. Only change was to make about 3/4 the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
The taste was wonderful. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I've made it twice now, and both times it kind of sank in in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Made this for my husband's aunt's birthday. This cake turned me into a german chocolate cake fan. The icing is to die for!! I had to cook the icing significantly longer than specified, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I made this for my husband's birthday and it was a success! He loved it! It was so good! A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Very tasty! The only difference from the recipe was that I ended up cooking the frosting longer than the recommended time because it was still too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States