German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lori Schreiner
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
very delicious I give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Schreiner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This cake was yummy. Just like my grandmas. You could sub a cake mix for this if you are in a hurry but not the frosting. The frosting makes this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Snapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
A delicious cake, but RICH, RICH,RICH! A little bit of it goes a long way. It's also easy to make. One thing....there's no need to line a 9x13 inch pan with parchment paper...it comes out easily after it's cut into squares. If you're making two layers, then you definitely want to line the pans with the parchment paper, or use waxed paper that has been greased after putting into the greased round cake pans.....the latter is what I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ayla
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Fun to make and even better to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
It would have been helpful if it had told us that it needed to come to a boil. took us a couple times and a video to realize that that was left off these instructions......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAT in the HAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Skagway, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I specifically used this recipe for the frosting recipe. It makes more and more is best. The recipe is so delicious and incredibly sinful. So, easy and by far superior to store brought. I will always make thisinstead of buying it. The entire raved about it for days....no, weeks actually. So, yummy!!! Oh, and yes make the frosting first....then bake your cake. It's a must, it needs to set up a long while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I do not like German Chocolate cake, most are too sweet and just not a good flavor at all to me. I tried this cake for my dad who loves German Chocolate cake and he wont stop asking for it and raving about it. I make it exactly how the recipe calls to make it and haven't had a single issue other then the fact that it takes an hour to cook all the way through. I have made it a half dozen times and the thing has fallen 4 of the 6 times. Wonderful flavor wonderful texture, but takes FOREVER to cook in my 9x13 pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I made this cake for a friend's birthday. It turned out to be the best cake I've made so far! I saw others thought it might not be chocolatey enough so I added about 3 Tablespoons of cocoa powder to the dry ingredients and I guess that did the trick because it tasted plenty chocolatey to me. I also added about 1/4 c sour cream before folding in the egg whites to make it more moist and substituted 1c and 2 Tbsp cake flour for every cup of flour. It came out with a wonderful texture. Moist, but not so moist that it feel apart. I frosted it with the frosting recipe included. I followed others directions and let my egg yolks come to room temperature and didn't have a problem with them mixing in smoothly. It yielded enough frosting for me to frost the tops of the 3 layer cake. I frosted the sides with chocolate butter cream. This cake was completely gone within 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Would be nice to rewrite the recipe and OVER emphasize that the eggs need to be room temp for the icing instead of having to find out the hard way or sift through a hundred reviews to find that out. The cake fell. I have two concave discs. This was supposed to be for my husbands birthday but its pretty much ruined. I might try this again someday but the ingredients were expensive and it took way too much effort. So, maybe not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBAMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Excellent....going into my recipe book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States