German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Hey. Its a great great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Fitzhugh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Came out just right...very tasty frosting... the pecans really make the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Great Recipe, it comes from the inside of the Bakers German Chocolate Box. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
this was my first time at baking a german chocolate cake that did'nt come from a box,and i have to tell you this was very good,toasted the coconut and pecans added dark chocolate on top as decoration.try this its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I made this cake for my Wifes 5oth Birthday. It was great. I change the serving size from 24 to 16, and cooked in two 9" round cake pans for 25 mins. What did the trick was I still used 4 of the 1oz German Chocolate Squares instead of the 3 when reduced the serviing size. My Wife said I have to cook for her next 50 Birthdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
The frosting is delicious! But at my house we prefer to eat it with devils food cake. Taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is the first cake I have ever baked from scratch and I was so nervous but it was PERFECT!! It was so moist but still had the best texture to it. I was thrilled and so was my husband. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ga_betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I used the frosting recipe, but only used 1 C. sugar. This turned out great. The store was out of german choco. squares so I bought a german choco. box cake. I modified it by making it a bundt recipe (a more dense cake) by using 1 sm. pkt. instant choco. pudding, 4 eggs, 1/2 C. oil, and 1 C. water. Spread evenly in 2 round pans and bake as instructed on box. I used instant chocolate mousse for the sides and decoration. It gave the cake additional flavor and texture. Who needs ice cream when you have chocolate mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This is the exact recipe from Baker's German Chocolate package. My family has made this cake for more than fifty years. If you follow the directions of the package, this is a no-fail work of art. However, using CAKE FLOUR instead of regular flour (follow directions on cake flour box for conversion) makes this cake taste like it came from Heaven. As the directions from the package state for the icing, "cook over medium heat...or UNTIL THICKENED." That is the key for the icing. If you do that and wait until it has cooled significantly, the icing will stay on the cake - sides and top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This cake took me forever to make, but it was worth it. Before I ever got married, my husband said "birthday cake doesn't come from a box", so the pressure was on. I had never had a great experience with a homemade cake, so I was a little worried. My mom always used mixes (and she makes EVERYthing else homemade). My cake was not nearly as beautiful as the one in the picture, but it was so yummy! Thanks for a great recipe, and for easing my fear of homemade cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States