German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nancyh
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Used the german chocolate cake frosting II recipie. Added one more square of chocolate to cake batter. Also used 1 square of chocolate melted with 1/2 tsp of shortening to drizzle all over the cake, topped with chocolate frosting. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancyh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I made this for my husband's birthday party and it got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newbie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This recipe came out ok. It wasn't very sweet and was a lot of work for the result to be so dissapointing. Box cake would have tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzNicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This cake is absolutely amazing! I cut the butter down to 3/4 cup and sugar down to 1 1/2 cups on the cake and then 1/2 cup butter and 1 cup sugar on the frosting. It was still sweet and wonderful. Make sure to use room temperature eggs for the frosting and it may also take longer than 12 minutes for the frosting to thicken. I also toasted the pecans and coconut. If you wait until everything is cooled off completely, you will have an easier time frosting the cake. My cake was perfect at exactly 30 minutes. I think it just all depends on the altitude you are cooking at. I can't wait for another birthday to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSLOCKSMITH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by irkenidiot
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Delicious! This was my first time baking a cake solo, and everything came out perfectly. I followed the recipe to the T and decorated with chocolate icing and maraschino cherries. It was fantastic, and my parents loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irkenidiot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by supermom
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This cake turned out Great I got rave reviews on this cake only thing i might say the icing is cutting it close and i only used 2layers vs 3! So i might dble the frosting to give u a lil more but chocolate on top just gave it a extra pretty look and enhanced the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was AMAZING. I have never made a scratch cake so good before. I made this for my friend's birthday, and she also agreed that this was the best cake EVER. Since I made in two nine inch rounds to stack, I baked at a slightly lower temp (325) so it would rise more evenly, and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
very dense and rich...a little too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
If you buy the "german chocolate" bar at the store - this is almost the exact same recipe as inside the box. I was hoping that I was trying some NEW recipe than what I have always used - so I was slightly disappointed. It did turn out great as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States