German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
The cake is just OK. I would not eat it alone and will not make it again (far to labor intensive for a just so-so cake). However, the frosting was out-of-this-world!!!! It was extraordinary! Next time I plan to make the frosting and use it on a different chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
THis is far the best German cake I ever had. Remember to add warm frosting to warm cake it will give the cake moister, if you dont it will come out dry. I also tryed German chocolate cake III from this site its the same as this one but uses cake flour I tryed both and this is the keeper one. This one is way better !! I also used 3 round pan to stack the cake worked perfectly .Thanks for sharing and god bless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This turned out very well! My husband liked this cake much better than my go-to chocolate! The topping is decadent and should be parcelled out in small bits or you may slip into a diabetic coma. Very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnbot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Frosting I had to get it to a rolling boil to get that golden brown...I let it cook at about 6 on setting for about 8 mins , then I put it on 9 for a few mins then truned it til 8 and kept stirring for about 3 or 4 mins and it turned golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sohol

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I made two of these for a large birthday party. I incorporated some changes with each in order to experiment and have some words of advice, as a result. I compared the two cakes with the changes and here are my best recommendations: 1. I made my frosting first in order to give it time to cool to spreading consistency. 2. I also added 2 oz of melted chocolate to the frosting for a deeper flavor-this made an amazing difference. 3. I toasted my pecans and coconut at 350 for 15 min 4. I increased the amount of chocolate in the cake to 6 oz 5. It is extremely important not to over-mix the batter from the point of adding the flour mixture. I did this with only one of my cakes, and it was dry and crumbly-the other one was moist and delicious. 6. I do not think the chocolate on the top was necessary, and did not add to the the overall taste of the cake. I also came across an interesting fact while researching: German Chocolate Cake has nothing to do with Germany. It is an American creation. Sam German was a 19th century chocolate maker. In 1952, General Foods, the makers of Baker's chocolate, used his name when creating the recipe, which was originally called German's Chocolate Cake. Overall, this recipe is delicious, and with the changes that I incorporated, it was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Delicious cake! Everybody LOVED it. I gave it 4 stars because after following the recipe exactly I had trouble getting the cakes out of their pans. One I pieced together, one was fine and one went into a baggie for snacking. Besides that it was excellent and I will try it again in the 9x13 pan. The frosting was great too. It took a little while and I wasn't sure if it would be thick enough but after it cooled it was perfect! I'm getting a sweet tooth thinking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
The ingredients were difficult to find and in the end the cake was blah. My family eats almost everything sweet, and this went to waste. I wont be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Came out perfectly! It was fluffly and light. Everyone loved it and were amazed that it came from scratch. I used another frosting recipe using sweetened condensed milk because I didn't have evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach2815

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RDEPUY
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Made this cake for my son's girlfriend for her birthday. It was a big hit! She asked me to make it for her again for her birthday next year! Very moist and delicious. I used semi sweet chocolate instead of the german chocolate. Also made icing while the cake was in the oven baking. I cooled both the icing and cakes at same time. I also added vanilla after I cooked the frosting as another reader suggested. I also toasted the coconut and pecans before adding to icing. This gave the icing a better flavor! This recipe is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made the frosting except used Egg Beaters (1/2 cup) instead of 4 egg yolks because I wouldn't have known what to do with the whites. It was sooo good. I stirred nonstop for 15 minutes and it came together like it was supposed to thankfully. Next time I might cut down on the sugar or use 1/2 sweet and 1/2 unsweetened coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States