German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I've made this recipe twice and it's been awesome both times. I won't use another recipe, because it's worth the time investment for this one. I did give the recipe to a friend, though, and for some reason her cake fell in the middle (a lot - like a volcano). She was going to throw it away, but I like making the best of things so we put rare cheese cake in the middle and ate it like that! It was definitely NOT healthy but oh was it delicious...haha :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Micanopy, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was soooo good! I followed the recipe almost to a T. I ran out of all-purpose flour, so used about 1/3 cup wheat flour to make up for it. Next time I'll use substitute more of the flour for wheat flour to make up for all the other yummy calories! Thank you for the recipe. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Great Cake!! I used another frosting this time but the cake was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Love Greman Chocolate cake. This brings back sweet memorys of childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Jackman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I made this cake for a work function and it was a big hit! Followed the recipe exactly but used 2 rounds instead of a 9x13 for a prettier presentation. Had enough left over to make a mini "husband cake" in a disposable pie pan. Husband very appreciative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Great...lots of work but so so so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This was a great cake,so moist. I substituted sour cream for buttermilk. Also I made this in 2 round pans, then after it cooled, I cut them in half with dental floss and frosted them with chocolate fudge frosting first, then the German Chocolate frosting. I had to make a double batch of German Chocolate frosting for it to cover all the layers and sides of the cake. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Audubon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is the first cake I have ever baked from scratch and I was so nervous but it was PERFECT!! It was so moist but still had the best texture to it. I was thrilled and so was my husband. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ga_betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This is the exact recipe from Baker's German Chocolate package. My family has made this cake for more than fifty years. If you follow the directions of the package, this is a no-fail work of art. However, using CAKE FLOUR instead of regular flour (follow directions on cake flour box for conversion) makes this cake taste like it came from Heaven. As the directions from the package state for the icing, "cook over medium heat...or UNTIL THICKENED." That is the key for the icing. If you do that and wait until it has cooled significantly, the icing will stay on the cake - sides and top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This cake took me forever to make, but it was worth it. Before I ever got married, my husband said "birthday cake doesn't come from a box", so the pressure was on. I had never had a great experience with a homemade cake, so I was a little worried. My mom always used mixes (and she makes EVERYthing else homemade). My cake was not nearly as beautiful as the one in the picture, but it was so yummy! Thanks for a great recipe, and for easing my fear of homemade cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States