German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
DO NOT ATTEMPT TO MAKE THIS RECIPE USING AN OLD-SCHOOL, MANUAL HAND MIXER!!! (unless you want to be super buff.) I made this at my friend's house; she doesn't have an electric mixer, so I did it low-tech. Lots of work, but it turned out great...and bonus: I felt like I deserved the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Excellent recipe. Follow Jay Eubanks' tips in his review and all will be fine. I was leary of melting the chocolate w/ the water, afraid it would seize. But it worked out beautifully. I did have to bake my cake for 54 minutes, at 30 it was still soupy in the middle. Otherwise, followed the recipe to a 'T' and it was well received by all. (BTW this is NOT the same recipe that is on the Baker's package. Close, but not the same.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Made it for my husbands birthday and it turned out great. He is requesting it for every birthday now:) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Great recipe. Creamy, wonderful batter. classic german chocolate cake (not light and fluffy. I have also made alterations to this recipe to make the following: Normal chocolate cake: add 2tbs vinegar, and regular chocolate, mix egg in all at once. (okay to use cocoa 4Tcocoa +1T oil for each Square) yellow cake, 2tbs vinegar, eggs in all at once no chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This cake ended up really moist. The batter before being added into the egg whites is really good! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This recipe is great. The cake is so moist and delicious. The frosting comes out wonderful but you need to have the egg yolks at room temp. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I make this recipe for almost all the birthdays at our house! I use whole wheat flour. I also like to make it enough ahead of time to freeze it and thaw it before I serve it. (freezing and thawing it makes it more moist)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Living In: House Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was my very first time make a cake from scratch. Nothing but excellent comments at the b-day celebration that it was served at!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This cake is delicious!! It's the same one they print on the german sweet baking chocolate package. I didn't realize this untill I bought the chocolate. Anyhow, it's definitely worth the time and effort. Delicious, light, moist and the frosting is out of this world! The cooking time on the frosting is aproxamate. Mine took alot longer than 12 min. I just kept cooking and stirring untill it looked caramel like, golden brown and coated the spoon. Also, you need to use the whole package of baking chocolate (4 oz)not just 4 squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was a great recipe! I am only known to bake a outstanding "Apple Walnut Cake" and I wanted to try something new. The cake turned out well. It was moist and smooth and everyone loved it. The only problem that I had, was regarding the icing. I did everything the recipe said to do and it fell short. The recipe just mentioned to add 4 egg yolks, but it did not mention if the egg yolks should be beated prior to adding to the other ingredients for the icing. Also, I wish she would have made some mention of the consistency you should see. I was not sure at what point to stop heating the icing. It never became creamy. Other than the icing, the cake was fabulous! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States