German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is great! I liked this so much better than anything in the store and better than a cake mix. It was moist, not crumbly, not too sweet and light and fluffy! The frosting is by far the best I have had for German Chocolate cake. You just want to eat the whole thing all at once. I took what my husband and I didn't eat to work and they loved it there. They said it was a keeper! (they are my test guinea pigs at work)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Excellent!! If you cook it in a 9x13 you have to cook for almost an hour, not the 30 min. Husband asked if I can make again for his bday :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellenhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is the original recipe, minus 1 oz of coconut. Awesome egg foam cake, though I wonder if 30 minutes was a good baking time. My layers shrunk quite a bit, but that was probably from over-mixing. But they remained very moist, I should not have imbibed them with simple syrup, it would have been moist enough without it. The filling took about twice as long as suggested, but turned out beautifully. My only problems were: the layers were SO fragile, hard to turn out and plate without crumbling. Also, it was quite difficult to get a clean cut due to the crumbliness. Other than that, delicious, and I don't even like nuts or coconut. I baked mine in three 9in pans. I frosted and decorated it with Creamy Chocolate Frosting and drizzled Satiny Chocolate Glaze around the edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Unbelievable how light and airy the cake was. The flavors were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Amherst, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
WOW! WOW! This was sublime. I must admite, I used the German Chocolate Cake Frosting II but I used the cake recipe from here, and it was terrific. Had a distinguished flavor with the German chocolate, and just the right consistancy for the frosting. I served it to my European friends and they said it was a truly authentic recipe. Thank you for this, this is a gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacchante

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
DO NOT ATTEMPT TO MAKE THIS RECIPE USING AN OLD-SCHOOL, MANUAL HAND MIXER!!! (unless you want to be super buff.) I made this at my friend's house; she doesn't have an electric mixer, so I did it low-tech. Lots of work, but it turned out great...and bonus: I felt like I deserved the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Excellent recipe. Follow Jay Eubanks' tips in his review and all will be fine. I was leary of melting the chocolate w/ the water, afraid it would seize. But it worked out beautifully. I did have to bake my cake for 54 minutes, at 30 it was still soupy in the middle. Otherwise, followed the recipe to a 'T' and it was well received by all. (BTW this is NOT the same recipe that is on the Baker's package. Close, but not the same.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hager Hansgen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Made it for my husbands birthday and it turned out great. He is requesting it for every birthday now:) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Great recipe. Creamy, wonderful batter. classic german chocolate cake (not light and fluffy. I have also made alterations to this recipe to make the following: Normal chocolate cake: add 2tbs vinegar, and regular chocolate, mix egg in all at once. (okay to use cocoa 4Tcocoa +1T oil for each Square) yellow cake, 2tbs vinegar, eggs in all at once no chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This cake ended up really moist. The batter before being added into the egg whites is really good! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States