German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I have to give her 5 stars every year. I only make this cake for my husbands birthday. I don't know why!! It is delious!! So much easier than the 3 tier cake I used to make!! LOVES IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made 3 layers, so adjusted ingredients to 36 instead of 24. Plus, I added 3 more squares of german chocolate with same amount of water. Awesome! This is a very moist cake. Icing took a very, very long time - but worth waiting for. Make sure you allow enough time to get this cake right. It's not the easiest of all cakes -- mainly because of time and number of ingredients, but it looks beautiful and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I made this cake for my mate's birthday. Not usually in on scratch cakes, but we live in the caribbean, where box mixes are hit or miss on freshness. Great taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anelson825
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made this for my step-father's birthday. German chocolate is his favorite, whereas my mom and I can't stand it much. We tried this, and I had seconds! It was really that good. So moist, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anelson825

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Olivehurst, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I made this cake for my mother's 60th birthday. She is a professional baker and difficult to impress - she loved the cake! It was dense and moist and the frosting was excellent. I had to leave the pecans out because my son has nut allergies and cannot even be near them, but it didn't matter. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAAHN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SRB
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SRB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I agree with you CheryB I will never go back to box(unless I am pressed for time). I made the cake according to JEubanks review and used cake flour. I love cooking from scratch and this one was no exception. The taste was very good although I prefer my cake more solid and not so fluffy. For those that are concerned about it falling apart when frosting it put the cake in the frig for a few hours and then frost with room temp frosting. Love it, thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet2th

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I had never made a German Chocolate cake from scratch before although I have made almost every other kind from scratch. I have made the icing recipe before as it is what my family has always used and passed down..Now about the cake recipe--Absolutely Wonderful! Not at all like those box cake mixes which I will never make again! This is is very different as well as much, much better than the box mix! And, it was not difficult to make at all. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Excellent. I was told that if Jesus made a cake it would taste like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
the best recipe ever.got rave reviews from everybody.toasting the nuts and coconut helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States