German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I was wondering how people are measuring their flour. I'm using regular flour, but adding cornstarch. Are you using the dipping method, or are you actually weighing the flour. A cup should weigh 4.4 oz. When I measured the flour by dipping method, 1 cup weighed 5.5 oz. Dipping is how I normally measure my flour, so I'm curious as to how the folks that have made this recipe are measuring. This is quite a labor intensive recipe, and I don't want to mess it up. Any feedback would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Excellent cake! Follow the directions exactly, and make sure you stir the frosting for the allotted time, otherwise it won't thicken. Made this for my co-worker and everyone loved it - definitely can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Schleicher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Let me start by saying I love german chocolate cake, and I'd like to give this recipe 5 stars. However considering the work involved making this cake, and the results I think four is more accurate. The frosting is really what makes this cake!! That said, I followed the recipe to a T except "by mistake" when making the frosting I put 3/4 of a "stick" (6 tbsp) of butter (instead of 3/4 "cup"). In the end I found that was more than enough butter (in fact next time I might put 5 tbsp). The cake was just okay, it was moist, and the texture was right on for german chocolate cake, yet I found it REALLY lacked in flavor! Although it was a hit with my son and grand kids (I think it was the frosting they loved). If the results were worth all the work and cost I'd do it again in a heart beat, but sorry not for me. I think what might work is if I make the frosting and put it on a different cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori Schreiner
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
very delicious I give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Schreiner
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This cake was yummy. Just like my grandmas. You could sub a cake mix for this if you are in a hurry but not the frosting. The frosting makes this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Snapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
A delicious cake, but RICH, RICH,RICH! A little bit of it goes a long way. It's also easy to make. One thing....there's no need to line a 9x13 inch pan with parchment paper...it comes out easily after it's cut into squares. If you're making two layers, then you definitely want to line the pans with the parchment paper, or use waxed paper that has been greased after putting into the greased round cake pans.....the latter is what I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ayla
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Fun to make and even better to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
It would have been helpful if it had told us that it needed to come to a boil. took us a couple times and a video to realize that that was left off these instructions......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAT in the HAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Skagway, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I specifically used this recipe for the frosting recipe. It makes more and more is best. The recipe is so delicious and incredibly sinful. So, easy and by far superior to store brought. I will always make thisinstead of buying it. The entire raved about it for days....no, weeks actually. So, yummy!!! Oh, and yes make the frosting first....then bake your cake. It's a must, it needs to set up a long while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I do not like German Chocolate cake, most are too sweet and just not a good flavor at all to me. I tried this cake for my dad who loves German Chocolate cake and he wont stop asking for it and raving about it. I make it exactly how the recipe calls to make it and haven't had a single issue other then the fact that it takes an hour to cook all the way through. I have made it a half dozen times and the thing has fallen 4 of the 6 times. Wonderful flavor wonderful texture, but takes FOREVER to cook in my 9x13 pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States