German-Style Weck Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This recipe is awesome and easy to make. Excellent. Make sure you put the ice in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I broke my mixer making this. :-( it took me two hours to mix by hand. My oven only has one rack, so the ice part isn't easy. They took over 25 minutes to bake in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is the best Kaiser Roll recipe I have come across. I have made this twice and still working on getting the air pockets out. Tried to attach a photo of my work of art but did not go through. This recipe is so much fun to make and the result might not look like a bakery item but darn close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Photo by Jillian N.
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
These are perfect rolls for sandwiches. I shaped mine like kaiser rolls and topped them with caraway seeds and coarse salt. We made sandwiches using rare roast beef, horseradish, and gravy. I cut the recipe in half and ended up with 8 large rolls. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very good rolls, I didn't realize until they were done that they are for sandwiches. I was expecting a type of dinner roll. I think I'll make them smaller next time and see how they do. But they are a little crunchy on the outside and so soft on the inside, everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I've been making these for years for my family, and they're a lot of work (so they don't come often) but they're worth it! I usually add 1/2 a brick of aged sharp cheddar cheese to the dough, and then sprinkle more cheese on top after brushing with the egg wash. Cheese buns, better that the grocery store, crisp on the outside, soft on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
These have a great taste, just like the ones I could get in WI! Watch the raisings, as the dough raised much faster than specified. The eggs whites much be the secret to these authentic "hard rolls".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Oh, man. I had a WORLD of problems with these. I feel obligated to tell you they were all MY fault, so take this review as a warning not to do what I did. Now, I've got a lot going on this weekend, so I was not giving this anywhere close to the attention I should have been, and that's what caused the most trouble. I dropped the measuring spoon into the bowl of water, sugar, and yeast. If you've ever done the same, you know that the yeast clumps to EVERYTHING, fingers included. I *think* I was able to make up for what came out with my hand and the spoon, but who really knows? Then, I went to beat the egg whites, and in a fit of laziness, I didn't wash the beaters after mixing the yeast water with the first portion of flour. Big mistake, as after 10 minutes on high, they never even made soft peaks. I added them anyway, for lack of eggs to replace them with. At which point I read the next step and, oops. Bread flour? So, I did a little research and learned that all purpose flour could be substitued, but the end result wouldn't have the extra chewy goodness. Figuring everything else that I screwed up already, I used what I had. But I didn't use anywhere near 7 cups. After about 5.5 it just wouldn't take anymore flour. I'm baking it anyway; its on its first rising now, and I'm sure it will be edible. That said, even screwed up, it was a lot of work! I'd love to see the end results of the actual recipe, but I just don't see myself putting in that kind of time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I tried, really I did, but I couldn't make the rolls look right. They kept turning into a barely recognizable lump of dough when I tried to fold them into the traditional looking weck (or kummelweck for those who know them by their original name). After a while I got frustrated and just formed them into rolls and cut the spiraled look into the tops of them. They tasted good, but they I just couldn't get them shaped right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Beef on Weck, Part 1: Kummelweck Roll

See how to make delicious freshly baked kummelweck rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States