German Style Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lisa Bunker
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
WE LOVED IT. I did only use 4 apples, we had Sourdough bread, Brussels Sprouts, and Mashed Potatoes on the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Bunker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Liked it a lot. I too sautéed 2shallots and 2 cloves of garlic In a separate pan in a 1/4 cup of moscato. In another pan I browned all of the sausage. I Drained 1/2 of the sauerkraut liquid before I cooked it. Added all of the sausage, shallots , apples (4) and garlic, and brown sugar in the large pan with the kraut, sautéed for another 10 min. Boiled fettuccine noodles, drained them, then pan seared them in OVOO and butter. Served mixture over noodles, sprinkled celery salt over meal, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
My husband and I loved this dish. Great comfort food. Food I grew up on! I loved the apples in it. I didn't add the brown sugar. But I did add about a teaspoon of granulated sugar just to cut the sourness a tad. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This is a really good one-pan recipe that I grew up on. In our family, we add cubes of potato and onion as well (sometimes skipping the apple), and a splash of apple cider vinegar, and the sauerkraut is always the "Bavarian-style" with caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I was looking for something like a comfort food for the winter and couldn't find exactly what I was looking for. After reading some of the other reviews, I improvised and put in a lot of additional stuff but the kitchen sink, including ground mustard, celery seed, caraway seeds, some cut up carrots, potatoes, apple cider vinegar & homemade raspberry vinegar. I didn't have any apples so I used homemade applesauce. Seasoned to taste with seasoned salt & pepper, and turned out to be what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Made it last night, along with several other authentic German dishes, and it was very good. Super easy to maintain while multi-cooking. The apples set it off! The ONLY thing I may change is cooking the Kielbasa separately just for a few minutes to ensure they are fully cooked, then adding them to the goodness to soak in all that flavor. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscumbia, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I like sauerkraut and kielbasa and the sourness , but when I make it next time I will not put the brown sugar in or less and I used 3 apples maybe 2 instead. Family ate but no rave reviews and but not bad for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used bratwurst and most of the recommendations from in the top review by JSho. I would make this again, as it's been my favorite way to eat bratwurst thus far. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
SO AMAZING! Im actually making this for the second time right now. I use just 1 lb of sausage, either one or 2 cans of kraut and about 3 or 4 apples depending on what I have on hand. My whole family loves it. Makes the kraut sweet. I take the sausage and sautee' it with a big onion and a tablespoon of butter, then take it and set it aside while I do the apples/kraut. add all together and simmer till my fried potatoes are done :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilliansmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olney, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Good and very adaptable. I followed the recipe and then put it in the crockpot for a party we were having later. It was great, and reheated in a frying pan very well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States